//
you're reading...
Organizations

Switch Payments…

Right… I work for a bank… I hear & see the odd report about payments… in fact I’m reading a 60 page report from APACS on Payments in the UK currently & forecasts of how they will perform over the next decade. Interesting stuff to a point… for example:
 
I know Personal Cheques are going to decline in use as people spend more via Debit Cards, Online Banking & Direct Debits…
 
I know that Debit Card Payments will take off in the Fast Food market over the next ten years, but will make little impact on the Utility or Bill payment Sector.
 
 
However, at lunch today I realised I had no cash… and with 45 minutes to a meeting I had no time to go to the nearest ATM, get cash & go to buy lunch… I also didn’t have time to make it home for a quick lunch. I knew the sandwich shop didn’t take switch… so I decided to buy lunch in a corner shop with my Debit Card.
 
 
Minimum Payment!!
 
 
OK, so perhaps not too surprising… however the value of the Minimum payment… £7.00stg!!
 
 
Who dreams up a price like that?! Seven?! Not £5… Seven… ripping I was… so I ended up buying a packet of buscuits, a packet of Haribo, a paper & a Car magazine!! (I don’t read magazines!!) Needless to say I was slightly agrieved…
 
Anyways, work has been fairly productive this past few days. I’ve got a review coming up next week in London where I have to demonstrate I’m meeting expectations… that is the plan you see… over a six month placement I don’t want to peak too early… I want to demonstrate progress across the placement. So I go for Met Expectations at 3 months & Exceeded at 6 months.
 
 
Anyways, I also had a gripe versus BBC weather today… at 0800 they told me it was going to rain in Brighton & Hove at around 1700-1800… the sky was clear blue!! Here was muggin’s walking down the street with his golf umbrella getting all sorts of wierd looks… and this is Brighton & Hove remember!!
 
 
Anyways, thankfully some rain has come & cooled the air a touch. It is actually giving a few days rain now, so hopefully it will cool down a touch. But should be nice for the weekend… which for the first time in a while is empty… anyone any suggestions for that?? What should I do?? Cheap options preferable!!
 
About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Switch Payments…

  1. You can watch me and Lou at Live 8 on the TV :o) £7 minimum payment is a REAL rip off. Poor you.

    Posted by Catherine | June 29, 2005, 22:35
  2. ^o)Are you bring a flag or "Carnlough On Tour" placard??!!I somehow doubt I\’ll spend a whole day in front of the TV… unless Sharapova makes it to the final of Wimbledon of course…:o)

    Posted by Barry | June 29, 2005, 22:50

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

