//
you're reading...
Travel

Back on the Trains…

Well, for the first time in a while I was back on the train & back to London!! Which was no major biggie as the start time was 1000. So I managed to get in for 0900 by catching the 0720 from Hove to London Bridge. Handy.
 
Anyways, as I turned up at the office I bumped into one of my Grad Programme peers… so I decided to hot-desk beside him "yeah sit there" he said, "that desk is free". What happened?? Before my laptop had time to log me in the desk owner arrives.
 
 
Anyways, the rest of the working day went well – review included – until at about 1445 my Grad Development Manager comes up to me & asks me to leave the 5th floor as some of the phone calls he is about to make are confidential!! Now the cynic in me would say, but you have a mobile phone… can’t you just take it to an office?! But the skiver in me said, sure, no problem. So at 1500 I was on the train back to Hove!! Home for 1605 & I decided that seeing as I was on an early start, I deserved an early finish.
 
Anyways, this evening I decided to do some net research into a few songs. First was the "Battle Hymn of the Republic" – turns out this has been converted into a NI football song!! – and the second was "Jerusalem". Now, I have to say I love the tune to Jerusalem, and although the words have much good meaning & talk about the lovely English Countryside – which it is! – I have to wonder a little about the author’s state of mental health… I’ll let you judge for yourself:
 
And did those feet in ancient time
Walk upon England’s mountains green?
And was the Holy Lamb of God
On England’s pleasant pastures seen?
And did the Countenance divine
Shine forth upon those clouded hills?
And was Jerusalem builded here,
Among those dark satanic mills?

Bring me my bow of burning gold,
Bring me my arrows of desire;
Bring me my spear! O, clouds unfold!
Bring me my chariot of fire!
I will not cease from mental fight,
Nor shall my sword sleep in my hand
Till we have built Jerusalem
In England’s green and pleasant land.

 

About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Back on the Trains…

  1. Baznjoyed your outlook on the hymn.1st verse not bad – nothing really serious – second verse however begs some consideration. would tend to lend my support to that dabte on his mental stability.John

    Posted by J | July 7, 2005, 14:52
  2. Welcome to the space JR.

    Posted by Barry | July 7, 2005, 19:31

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

