//
you're reading...
Health and wellness

There, but by the Grace of God…

Tuesday morning AM… I climb the stairwell in Mooregate Tube station London and make it to the nearby office for 0910.
 
Two days later & London is in a state of shock – has a capital city every gone from a state of Joy to Dismay in 24 hours like this before?! – and disgust that accompanies such a tradgey. My heart goes out to those in mourning, my prayers go out to those who are injured. A remarkable day which will live long in the memory.
 
About 1020 or so I tried to use my phone but was getting no response… after a few tests between the work & personal mobile I called BT to see if there were issues. The conversation went something like this:
 
"I’m unable to send messages or make calls"
"It may be something to do with London"
"Why, what’s going on in London?"
"Oh the network is down"
"Why?"
"Oh there have been explosions."
 
So of course when I then try to get on to the BBC webpage the page fails to materalise due to busy network. Then the pictures, the news & the emails start flooding in from London. Surreal. I couldn’t help but think of when I was a Kid & watched as Bombs went off across NI & the stories of death & pain came into the living room through the TV.
 
Thankfully everyone I know in London is safe & well. I have only heard of one bank employee who was caught up in an explosion & God be praised, he only had minor injuries. Rumour of shootings near canary wharf were rife as well… but as yet I’ve heard no substantiated reports on that.
 
The consequences of this day will be far reaching in the UK… expect your ID card harder & faster than ever… and I think you’ll find that security in major cities will be stepped up no end. We must stand up to this scum, we must overcome, there should be no compromise, there should be no mercy. Justice.
 
Rule Britannia.
 
About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

One thought on “There, but by the Grace of God…

  1. Here here, nice entry, glad to hear you and all your mates are ok.

    Posted by Lee-Anne | July 8, 2005, 18:21

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

