//
you're reading...
Hobbies

You can take the boy out of the country…

But you can’t take the country out of the boy…
 
 
Well, it’s been a busy week so far… and at the same time it’s had lots of quiet quality. So where to begin… umm… well Monday evening was a pleasant stroll down by the beach & chatting to some of the quality people out there via el mobile. A really pleasant & relaxing evening.
 
Tuesday was also very quiet, but I spent most of it playing Cricket on el xBox… not much to report here if all truth be told.
 
Wednesday was just another day in the office until the email server died a death & I decided to catch my train to London early. I was originally intending to be in London for work on the Wednesday, but meetings got switched to telecon… Jury’s Doyle Group owned me a complementory night’s stay, so I had decided to book it for this night as I was due to be in London on both the Wed / Thurs. So I ended up in the Jury’s Chelsea… in the Laura Ashley suite no less… a normal Jury’s room but with flowery curtins, bed covers & shower curtin!! But still it was nice & in typical Jury’s style the customer care was 1st Class!!
 
I headed out to dinner with a friend & we ended up in a Lebanese restaurant near the Marble Arch… for starters we had Lamb – raw & fried – and for main course I had chargrilled chicken – the whole bird was presented on my plate!! – and Gem had some sort of broth… I decided raw lamb was as adventurous as I was going to be that night!!
 
 
Anyways, the service again was superb & they kept us right thankfully!!
 
Thursday was spent in work in London… between meetings I was still trying to get email & network issues sorted… but eventually I got to do some work. Anyways, I suppose the big news from yesterday is that I have had my next placement confirmed. I’ll be working in the HQ of LTSB in Gresham Street, London.
 
Now, I’m slightly confused… a month ago – or so – I’d have been overjoyed at getting this placement… my planned development path is going exactly as I want it… yet, I seem very under-awed about this. Don’t get me wrong, I’m happy to have got the placement I wanted… but I’m not as excited as I thought I should be…
 
 
Anyways, the flat hunt begins now…
 
And after work I headed for dinner with Aoife & Rob, two old friends from Uni (Aoife works in LTSB as well, whilst Rob works for Accenture in London). We had a great night talking about what we’re up to & discussing the old friends, lecturers, classes we left behind in Uni. Ah… it was so good to be able to talk about Uni knowing I’ll never have to go back!!
 
 
And so to today… I worked from home. I also had a dentist appointment, where the hygienist scraped & poked in my mouth & the dentist fixed a wee crack. Oh & the dentist turned out to be from Lurgan… which sort of brings me back to where I started… the boy & his country.
 
About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “You can take the boy out of the country…

  1. She was from Lurgan! What a small world. I was stupid enough to go back to uni… I have the decision to work on a presentation for uni tonight or clean the house… I have decided to eat instead :o) You ate raw lamb. Again I am apalled – an entire bird? What kind of a bird? And I REALLY hope that there was no dog in that broth!!!

    Posted by Catherine | August 24, 2005, 20:42
  2. lol!! Small world indeed Cath!!Aww I like your lateral decision making tho, a real asset to a business you\’ll be!!Yup an entire \’Chicken\’ so I was told… tasted pretty good… tho the sauce was somewhat spicey. Not Norn Iron plain at all!! I\’m sure the broth was safe enough… Gem enjoyed it anyways.:o)

    Posted by Barry | August 24, 2005, 21:20

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

