//
you're reading...
Travel

The Big Move!!

Well, as I mentioned the other evening, I’m here… in London… the Capital, not just of a country nor a nation, but the Empire (well OK so the empire is a little smaller than it used to be, but hey, we’ve still got Gibralta!!). A more diverse place you’re not likely to see. However, the first thing I noticed about London had nothing to do with the many colours you’ll see, nor the many accents you’ll hear.
 
Driving here is a complete Nightmare!!
 
 
I tell no lie when I say the first time I drove inside the M25 (orbital road around London, also known as "the longest car park in Europe"), I spent the night in discomfort due to my left calf suffering from the clutching!! Anyways, over the course of a few weeks, 2 car journies, several work trips in the city with detours & a trip to Ikea I was here. I moved into my new abode (but more about the flat another night).
 
Anyways, I have to say, as far as moves go this was pretty straight forward. It is about 50 miles between Hove & London and it took me about two hours to move… 30 minutes to devour the 35 miles of motorway to the M25 and about 1 hour 20 minutes to complete the journey!! Like I said, Nightmare!!
 
 
I also had the joy of visiting Ikea on my relocation… one word, WOW. The concept is absolute genius. Full of mad people, ridiculous opening hours (2300 on a Saturday for a furniture shop!?!?) but most importantly, some cracking furniture – and in some cases, at cracking prices. I managed to pick up a shelving unit for my new room to ensure the bed wasn’t lonely. Also, the Swedish Meatballs were decent (although I was rather hungry).
 
So here I am, sitting in my new lounge in the Hamlet, Denmark Hill, London.
 
 
Oh and one final thing… the streets are not paved with gold after all…
 
About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “The Big Move!!

  1. Swedish meatballs. Yuck. Keep the stories coming – I\’m hoping we get to chat on Messenger again soon. Hope you\’re doing okay. Don\’t forget to keep smiling! And then EVERYONE in London is BOUND to love you :o)

    Posted by Catherine | October 26, 2005, 09:48
  2. You\’re too kind Catherine!! Don\’t worry, I\’ll keep the stories coming along!!:o)

    Posted by Barry | October 29, 2005, 14:35

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

