//
you're reading...
Organizations

New City, New Job

Well, if you haven’t gathered it by now, I moved to London due to work & now that I’ve been here over a month I suppose I should let you know a little about how the new role is going.
 
Well (before Granda asks) I’m really enjoying this new role. I’m working in one of the Banks main Risk teams & I really love reading all about the Risks & Issues we face & overcome every day. I described it to a friend as being nosey… she said it was "restless curiosity" (which is one of the competencies the Bank looks for in interviews!!)!!
 
 
Anyways, they’ve got me reporting into a lady by the name of Pauline who seems nice enough. In her late thirties & plans to quit the bank in the next five years or so to start her own business (potentially in gardening). She’s switched on, although I’ve found that our 1-2-1 meetings are consistently running out of time… something perhaps I’ll need to put my foot down on if it continues.
 
I’m also doing work for two other senior managers in the team – JJ who enjoys motorbikes & Paul who is from Glasgow. Again, two decent souls who enjoy a good laugh. The team manager is also really nice and she happens to look rather well to boot, so I suppose it isn’t all bad afterall this work malarkey…
 
 
I’ve had one issue however… up to this team, I always kept a little NI desk flag as a little reminder of home – basically my way of remembering where I’m from & a great way to think of all the good times I’ve had with friends & family over home. Well… after about a week or so of being in the team, whilst speaking to the team  manager, she said that she’d like me to remove the flag as it was causing offence to a team member, who apparently was "Irish Catholic".
 
Now, I’d met everyone in the team & there certainly were no Irish accents… so it turns out that a second generation Irish woman has seen a 3 x 5 inch flag on my desk & taken offence to it. Have you ever heard the like… obviously a sensitive soul… wonder does my accent offend her as well?!?! Or perhaps my haircut… or maybe me full stop?!?!
 
 
Anyways, being the silly soul I am, I removed the flag from my desk… however, long runs the fox.
 
But let us not end on a downer… did you know that in the month of September, no customers required an ambulance whilst on our property. Isn’t that reassuring.
 
About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

