//
you're reading...
Travel

Christmas Wishes

Wow, I’ve not put anything in here for a while… my sincerest apologies!! In my defence, it has been a rather hectic week or so.
 
Lets see… well the weekend of the 10th I headed down to Cheddar in Somerset to celebrate my birthday with some of the lads from work. ‘Cus & I share the same birthday, and he decided to throw a big birthday bash in honour. So three & a half hours later I arrived in the quaintest wee English village you ever did see!! After enjoying some crazy golf (in December!) we headed back to the house & enjoyed a fine evening of Mexican food!! The following day it was tidy-up duty whilst the father of the house cooked a roast chicken dinner!! If nothing else I was well fed!! Then the drive home – past Stonehenge… now the one thing which struck me was how small it is!!
 
Anyways, the week itself was busy… on Tuesday (my birthday itself) I headed out for dinner with a friend to celebrate… which was a quality wee night. Wednesday I was out for dinner with Bob & Aoife from Uni, to catch up on how we’re all getting on… wee paddies in the city with bright lights!! And on Thursday I was out to dinner (again!) with Sripriya. So the week flew in & I managed to get gym in a few nights.
 
This weekend I managed to end up on Watford to see Saracens v Ulster in the European Cup… Rugby European Cup. Now I played rugby when I was in school, and I do watch it now after years of not being bothered. It’s a decent TV sport… but when it comes to actually getting up & going to it, well to be blunt, it’s boring… The teams played pack rugby (so the ball was hard enough to see), committing fouls all over the place which the ref seemed to be the only one to spot, the atmosphere in the part filled ground was rubbish… and it was cold enough to wet the eyes of a brass monkey with tears. On the plus side, myself & a few football types had great fun trying to get football style chants going… much to the chargrin of some of them posh rugger types!!
 
Anyways, perhaps the wierdest moment was when a complete stranger stood in front of me & said are you Finbar?! I was well suspicious at that point, but as it turns out it was innocent enough. I bring a flag to big sporting games with my hamlet’s name on it (Clabby). This chap spotted the flag, asked about who owned it & ended up at my door (so to speak). As it turned out he was from Fivemiletown & was a Clabby Strollers (football team) man!! Small world. Anyways, the wife was even more amused & decided she wanted a picture of the flag… so I obliged. Anyways, a good day had by all… bar the cold & the dull game on show.
 
Yesterday was entertaining as it was ‘unofficial’ Christmas Day!! The residents at #15 decided we’d cook a roast dinner (with all the trimmings), open crackers, wear silly hats & give each other gifts (well some of us went that far). It was a really nice day actually… pleasent.
 
And so that’s me upto date… well everything I want to share… I’m sure Catherine will spot the tiny hint in the middle of all that about more… if not, well!!
 
If I’m not speaking to you before the big day, have a fantastic Christmas Day, enjoy the holidays & at least try to behave!!
 
Ciao
About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Christmas Wishes

  1. Although I haven\’t been around much on either messenger, email OR MSN Blog – I did indeed spot an interesting little part which needs expanding on! But it sounds like things are going well in that department at the moment? I\’m glad to hear that you\’ve been keeping busy and a belated Happy Birthday is in order too!! I truly hope you had the happy day you deserve.

    Posted by Catherine | December 22, 2005, 11:28
  2. Haha… erm… probably quite not the story you\’re going to expect I think!!;-)

    Posted by Barry | December 22, 2005, 21:12

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

