//
you're reading...
Travel

Mixed Bag

Hideho Amigos, I trust you’re well this fine Winter’s evening.
 
I realise it’s not been long since my last entry, however, I’ve been a busy bee… although not in the Gladiator sense & do not intend to oust the Ceasar!!Err… sidetracked there slightly.
 
Anyways, I got opportunity to head to Solihull Training Centre yesterday evening to help out on one of the Banks Assessment Centres. Now I mistakenly thought I might have to do some work there… but the sum task was to look after the prospective candidates & have dinner with them. So, displaying dedication to the cause I had the roast beef & yorkshire pudding option (as the middle of my three courses)… thank you LTSB!! We then helped them to relax by playing giant Jenga… a pre assessment centre must. So job done, off to the free bed… followed by the free breakfast!! You know being employed is tough at times.
 
Then today I was involved in a Presentation skills workshop all day. I’m preparing to facilitate a workshop myself where I take half a dozen Industrial Placement Students through the same workshop. It was a long day, but good fun. Getting to critique others’ work is a pasttime of mine as it goes anyways, so being able to supply ‘constructive feedback’ was great fun. Then when I got to deliver my own presentation, I got a ego boost… and nothing to work on in terms of improvement… so a mixed bag… how am I to get better if I can’t get critiqued?!
 
Also, I’ve had two messages today… one bad & the other good. A mate has failed to come good with vacation and flights for the Cork City trip… so looks like I could be headed on my tod. Fortunately I haven’t booked a hotel yet. The second message was from my Mentor in work, who is currently heading up Operations offshore. I’ve been trying to investigate a placement offshore for sometime & the man has come up with a proposal which might make that aspiration a reality!! Now I’m trying to limit expectations at the moment, but will investigate further tomorrow!!
 
Finally, the Gym was bunged tonight… when will these New Year Resolutions cease?! tut.
 
Ane one last thought… ebay works.
About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

One thought on “Mixed Bag

  1. eBay works? Are you a convert now? And have you bought or sold? I read your last entry about the progress with the motorbike – well done Barry! The new year\’s resolutions are coming along nicely (forgetting about tonight\’s gym of course). Roast beef and yorkshire pudding? My mouth is watering just thinking about it.

    Posted by Catherine | January 24, 2006, 22:22

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

