//
you're reading...
Travel

And another one bites the dust…

Well, the end of yet another week… and Saturday can be confined to the dustbin… but it hasn’t been an unproductive day. In fact it’s been a busy day, although not without it’s downside.
 
It all started with a ringing door bell… yup I had a hearty sleep of 10 & half hours… and boy did it feel good. I can see the next sleep being of similar proportion. I’m a tired wee boy these days. But back to the bell… instead of being the builders (here to repair a dodgy balcony roof) it was in fact the postie… who left me one of those notes I hate. Special Delivery item, requiring signature… meaning I’ll have to go to the Sorting Office in the next week… i.e. next Saturday morning… and if I don’t go… well my post will be returned to sender. Commence Rant. The post office do a great job, however, their collection service stinks. I work 0900 to 1700… infact I actually work 0800 to 1700… so if their office only opens from 0800 to 1300 during the week, when am I supposed to collect my post?!?! I basically have next Saturday morning to collect my post… and if I was away on that day?! Well post would be gone. It’s a disgrace… do these companies not realise that PEOPLE WORK?!
 
Here endeth the rant.
 
Anyways, I got the car washed (and did some essential food shopping whilst waiting) and then proceeded to brush the rust off & use some hamerite to cover over the damage. It might be that the rust causes JIL to fail the MOT (and if it does, I’ll be buying a new car). I sincerely hope that it doesn’t, but next weekend, I’ll either be a very happy chappy, or a very depressed new car owner.
 
Once I’d the car sorted & lunch consumed, I was off to East Grinstead to visit Mr Andrews (and wife) in the Queen Victoria Hosptial. As mentioned in yesterday’s entry, LA had bit of a firework accident… but his surgery seems to have gone well… and with a bit more time under the knife on Monday, it sounds like he’ll be fighting fit soon. Good to here & Lord willing he’ll be a repaired man soon. He has however, given up the fireworks… so I suppose lesson has been learnt (the hard way unfortunately).
 
After that, home & actually been spending some time googling people who I’ve not heard of in quite a while… and it appears that I’m the only geek as none of them appear online…
 
Anyways… another weekend is half way through. Take care & speak to you soon.
About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “And another one bites the dust…

  1. Googling people is like something I\’d do.  But the secret is not to reveal your real name online too much.  I\’m sad to hear you\’re feeling tired like me.  And is your car called Jil or is that the numbe rplate?  Do people actually NAME cars?  I love long sleeps.  And fingers crossed all goes well with the MOT!  As for the Special Delivery…  why not get it delivered to work! Problemo solved!

    Posted by Catherine | February 5, 2006, 18:31
  2. I seem to have done a good job keeping myself incognito!! 😉
     
    The car is called JIL, because that\’s what it says on the Number plate Squeak!!
     
    They won\’t redeliver the item to a different address if it\’s special delivery (apparently)… I hate Royal Mail!!

    Posted by Barry | February 5, 2006, 20:18

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

