//
you're reading...
Travel

Phil the Greek

Well, as I left you last time I was on my way to see HRH Duke of Edinburgh, Prince Phillip in St James’ Palace. Anyways, we got over to Green Park early so headed to the Mason’s hall to get our photographs taken to mark the occasion… which was a nice idea – if a little pricey!! But afterwards, we got bit of a walk around the Mason’s Hall & some tea & biscuits.
 
So I had to say cheerio to Dad & bring Mum into the Palace… pretty cool it was too, we had the Coldstream Guards playing some string ensemble music, paintings too big to get through any door, guns, swords & of course a throne (well it wouldn’t be much of a palace without a throne!!).
 
The folks receiving awards were split by region, so I was in the Northern Ireland room (naturally) and was delighted to be beside Jay Floyd who also was receiving his award – we completed our hike together. There were other faces I recognised & a lady who used to work at FMT HS!! So Phil came out, and of course made a beeline for Jay & I.
 
PP: "So, how long did it take for you to complete your Award?"
Fin: "Well, due to foot & mouth, it took a bit longer than I would have liked, sir, about 3 and half years."
PP: "Oh, have you recovered yet??"
 
 
Cheeky sod… but he did make me laugh… although later he had some dodgy comments about Kosovo & Romania… but still it was pretty funny. We then had the award ceremony, with the certificates presented by Alison Mowbray (Olympic Silver Medalist at Athens in the ladies rowing). She was good fun & enjoyed a bit of a laugh. As did a wee blonde lassie from Bangor who I saw about an hour after it ended wandering the streets of London with her mother & sister… hope they got home safely.
 
Anyways, the day was a good one & the auld pair headed back off home on Friday morning & I was back to work. But I had Disc 2 of series 1 of LOST to watch yesterday evening… again, superb stuff!! Can’t wait until disc 3 is delivered!!
About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

One thought on “Phil the Greek

  1. Congratulations Barry!  It shows how often I\’ve been reading that I didn\’t even notice this *insert confuddled face here).  But well done again – good for you on getting the award and seeing a throne and royalty and stuff :O)

    Posted by Catherine | March 8, 2006, 13:50

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

