//
you're reading...
Travel

Time flies… when you’re having fun!!

Hey there, and sorry for not updating in such a while… it’s fair to say things have been busy. Sine the auld pair returned to the home land, I’ve not had a huge deal of time to myself!!
 
Last week I returned home to Norn Iron for to watch some football… wee Norn Iron were playing Estonia in Belfast, so half day vacation booked, off I went to Gatwick & then on to Belfast… Sudoko kept me entertained all the way. Now I didn’t bother taking this up when it was all the craze – I suppose it was my way of rebelling against common social peer pressure. So I decided to give it a go in the daily Metro paper… so one down, then decided it would be worth buying a couple of papers to get me through the journey home… so 4 more grids later I’m 5 minutes from Belfast International Airport!! Good stuff!!
 
And when I get home, it’s snowing!!  I love a bit of snow, and home seems to have had it’s fair share over the past few weeks. London has has flurries of snow, but none of it lay on the streets… boo. But it was good to be home nonetheless… the brother made me some tea & off we headed to watch the football & meet up with Dad. The game was poor, the atmosphere wasn’t as good as it can be, and the weather was baltic – but we won & that means I had a fantastic time!! Also got to see some old friends, from school & church who travel up to the games.
 
5 hours sleep later & I’m on my way back to London for work. Another day down & this time I’m off to the West Country (stopping over the night in Andover) for Alex’s (the lad I lived with in Birmingham) Stag weekend. So couple of work mates in tow we manage to arrive just west of Exeter in Devon. We were staying in an activity centre… and when I say activity, the list was more than impressive. In our time there, we managed:
  • Crazy Golf
  • Archery
  • Pistol Shooting
  • Rifle Shooting
  • Golf
  • Billiards
  • Arcade games
  • 10 Pin Bowling
  • Snooker
  • Table Tennis
  • Badminton
  • Tennis
  • Football

And that means we didn’t bother with the Unihock, Queen’s Bowls, Swimming, Spa facilities, Arts & Crafts (pottery, glass painting, t-shirt printing, etc.)… amazing place. Aside from all that we had 3 course dinners on tap, and a morning Quad Biking in the Dartmoor hills!! Needless to say the weekend was knackering & I’m still slightly recovering – haven’t ventured back to the gym yet, just swimming. But the craic was mighty as they say & it was a good work out if nothing else!!

 

And so I’m back to work… which is ultra busy as always. Although the busy work load isn’t too bad if I’m honest, it’s helping the days go by. What is annoying however, is that despite requesting my next placement in Glasgow (and consequently having that request accepted) I’m not going to get that placement. The head of HR for my part of the Bank specifically intervened & said I couldn’t go… bit of a long story, but I’ve got to now find a new placement. I’m off to Birmingham & Chelmsford this Friday to see if I can source something suitable for six months. SIGH!!

About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

One thought on “Time flies… when you’re having fun!!

  1. 3 course dinners sound good – and look at all those activities!  Definately sounds action packed!  And you need to explain about the HR intervention thing – I thought Glasgow was a dead cert!

    Posted by Catherine | March 8, 2006, 13:48

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

