//
you're reading...
Travel

Commuting!!

 
Well, I’ve started my new role in Chelmsford this week… which has meant a one hour 50 minute commute from South East London (ten minute walk to the station, a fifteen minute journey to London Bridge, a twenty minute tube journey, a 35 minute train journey, a ten minute walk & of course the 20 minutes you spend hanging about waiting).
 
Which has got me thinking about commuting… now, I’m not getting up any earlier, nor going to bed any later, but I’m absolutely knackered at the end of week one in my new place of employement – I haven’t really taken on my role yet if I’m honest. I used to swim in the mornings before work & gym in the evenings after, but I was never this tired. What’s going on?!
 
Are my energy levels suffering because I’m not as physically active as I was?! Or is it to do with the extra concentration I’m having to exert in learning my new role?! Whatever the answer is, the man, woman or child who discovers the cure is on to a sure fire buck!!
 
Anyways, the new role promises to be very interesting. I’ll be responsible for one half of the Clearings team in Chelmsford Service Centre… totalling about 15 Head-count & about 19 FTE (believe me, it took me a while to work out how one head = more than one Full Time Employee… but it is possible!!). From what I’ve seen there is a good mix of ages, abilities and motivations, so it should provide both entertainment & challenge.
 
Anyways, I’m not back in the office until next Thursday thanks to holidays & courses, so I’ve got a bit of time to think about how I’m going to rule with an iron fist. I’ll be using that time to pack my bags & move the vast majority of my personal effects to the new flat (hopefully tomorrow).
 
I’ve also got to eat my easter egg this weekend… sad I know, but I had to buy my own this year, apparently Mum bought me one last year & ate it on me!! I’m sure there is something morally wrong in that which the CSA or Childline could take a look into?! At least this year I know I’m guaranteed to get one of my own… but still, it’d be nice to join the family for the yearly egg eating. I hope your all well back there folks.
 
Finally, apparently I’m in the Impartial Reporter this week due to my Duke of Edinburgh achievements… horray!!
 
Have a great easter folks & see you soon.
About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Commuting!!

  1. Yes.  That is definately morally wrong.  Childish or not I insist on getting an Easter egg every year. If I don\’t get one this year I will cry. I\’m always knackered too and I don\’t even have a commute – you told me my body clock would adapt! Go you Mr. Manager!  You\’re actually in charge of real people!? How cool is that?  And yeah. You now know a model. How kick ass is that?  ;o)

    Posted by Catherine | April 14, 2006, 11:47
  2. Yeah, real people!! Well, I will be on Thursday next week!!
     
    Well, it\’d be a whole lot more "kick ass" if I could get a signed photo!!
     
    :oP
     
    :o)

    Posted by Barry | April 14, 2006, 20:00

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

