//
you're reading...
Travel

Is persuasion a form of manipulation??

This is a question I was facing today.
 
I was on a ‘Persuading & Influencing’ course in Aldwych, London and we were discussing the difference between Persuasion & Manipulation… to which I answered I see them as one & the same. The course facilitator didn’t take kindly to this challenge I thought, so we discussed it.
 
Her arugment was that Manipulation offered no choice to the other person, they had to accept your desired outcome.
 
My argument was that through persuasion, you’re trying to get them to arrive at your desired outcome, and if you’re successful, they only have the pretence of coming to that decision by themselves, when in reality, you manipulated them through persuasion to that point.
 
I think we agreed to disagree in the end.
 
The other major question I faced today was to do with Branson Pickles. Do they deserve categorisation as their own food group?? I spent years avoiding Bransons, despite my brother’s constant glowing reports on how good they are… until one day I got a free trial portion in Tesco’s. Since then, I’ve discovered, that there is no occasion, or food which doesn’t go with the darn stuff. Lovely.
 
I suppose the other highlight today was a lassie on the course I attended… about 5’8", black hair, and a quaint, sweet North Yorkshire accent… *sigh* doesn’t come much better than that lads… bless her.
 
Anyways, last night in the London Digs… party on Garth.
 
About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

