//
you're reading...
Travel

Finals…

Well, it’s been over a week since I updated my blog & it’s been a busy week of football. Firstly on Saturday Liverpool played West Ham in the FA Cup final in Cardiff. As it turned out, it was a cracking game of football, ending 3-3 at full time and after extra time… and Liverpool won on penalties.
 
So as a Liverpool fan I couldn’t complain… except I can. WHUFC went 2-0 up in the first half… which was devastating almost… although LFC then pulled the finger out & clawed their way back to 2-2. Then, with about 25 minutes left the WHUFC left back fluked a goal… drat. The next 23 minutes were frustrating, very frustrating.
 
Now I had to go to London on Saturday evening which meant I had to leave at 1700 regardless of how the football went… so with 3 minutes to go I decided I’d quit whilst I was behind & get ready to go. No sooner had I reached my bedroom than I heard the crys from the house next door through the open windows… Gerrard had equalised from 35 yards with goal of the season… and I had missed it.
 
I had to endure the extra time on the train with texts from my brother & then he graciously decided to describe the penalties over the phone. I’ll not forget the 2006 Cup Final for a long time.
 
And so to the second final. Last night, Arsenal played Barcelona in the Champions League final in Paris. The big brother is a big Gooner (Arsenal fan for the uncooth) and decided to take a chance & travel to Paris for the game without a ticket. As it transpired, he wasn’t prepared to pay the £2500 asking price for a ticket from touts & had to watch the game in Paris centre. As it happened, Arsenal had their keeper sent off after 20 mintues, then scored from a rare attack, had some cracking chances to kill the game… but failed. Barcelona then scored two good goals & it was good night North London.
 
Pity for Mark. He’ll probably never have as good a chance to see his team win the Champions League…
 
And so to the rest of my week. Work has been getting progressively better. I’m starting to assert my authority on the minions & getting the results I want… so that’s really good. I’m warming more & more to Chelmsford. Provincial living is really my thing. And I’ve made a couple of new friends this week, both from LTSB & from without… which is good. I’m getting settled, goodness forbid.
 
Anyways, Big Brother 7 is about to start… time to concentrate the mind. Take care & chat soon.
 
About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

One thought on “Finals…

  1. I\’m currently watching pathetic Coronation Street while I wait for BB7 to begin…  I have been absolutely loving it so far.  Half the people are absolutely doing my head in – but sure that\’s always the fun part isn\’t it?
     
    Hope you\’re enjoying your week so far and talk soon no doubt!

    Posted by Catherine | May 22, 2006, 20:44

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

