//
you're reading...
Travel

Planning

It’s been a while since I last updated & I can only apologise for that. I’ve thought about it a number of times, however, I’ve just been lazy, not in the mood, or down right busy to do it. As I said, sorry.
 
Since I last updated, I suppose I’ve packed in a few bits & bobs. Firstly I went home last weekend, which was lush. I didn’t tell the parents I was going home, so as I walked into the house at 1230 and knocked on their door they were a bit surprised to see me – initially mum thought I was Mark util I turned on the light!! I think they were touched with the surprise too.
 
So I got some quality time in with the ‘rents. Went to ‘skea on the Saturday with Ma to do some shopping – noticed how things seem cheaper in Norn Iron to over here. Then in the evening Ma & Da took me out for dinner (the brother wouldn’t come as he was courting… he turned down a free dinner with his brother – an opportunity which won’t rear it’s head again until July). We headed to one of my favourite wee restaurants in skin town and I got in the customery fillet steak.
 
Sunday was about catching up with friends… which I did plenty of. It was really good to catch up with the lot of them. And then, after 4 hours sleep on my brother’s lounge floor, it was into the taxi to Belfast International Airport for the flight back to work on Monday morning.
 
Fortunately, work went smoothly most of this week – I am looking after both teams at the moment whilst the other team leader is on vacation, so I’ve got 32 staff under me. I’ve had a few issues – for example, one lady refuses to go home early when the opportunity presents itself – tho nothing insurmountable.
 
On Wednesday I was in London for a mock interview. As part of my Graduate Programme, they’re preping us for roll off & part of that means getting ready for any interview process. Mine seemed to go well – I scored 3.8-4.0 out of 5.0 so can’t complain too much. I also had a chance to catch up with Alex, who had just returned from his honeymoon (Florida & Antiga) which was good. Then after I headed out for dinner with a friend in London & eventually got myself back to Chelmsford in the wee hours. In Liverpool street there were dozens of middle aged lassies who were at the TakeThat reunion tour… drunk of course… making complete fools of themselves. One lady decided to announce to the carriage that she would happily give up her own kids to be allowed to have Howards (someone from TakeThat I imagine)… what made this slightly funnier, was that she was on the phone to her own mother at the time.
 
And apart from a visit to Tesco, and completing ‘the Da Vinci code’ (the book, not the quest) I’ve arrived at my Bank Holiday weekend. It’s been a bit damp, and my proposed cricket game was cancelled… however, I took opportunity to catch on on SKY with Spiderman 2 & Dodgeball on the movie channels. I love SKY.
 
And so to the title of this post… planning. Last weekend, I sat down & planned my tour to Australia and it looks something like:
 

08th – 16th Dec in Perth – fly to Adelaide

16th – 23rd Dec in Adelaide – Drive to Melbourne

23rd – 30th Dec in Melbourne – train to Canberra

30th – 31st Dec in Canberra – train to Sydney

31st – 05th Jan in Sydney – drive to Brisbane

05th – 11th Jan in Brisbane – fly to Hong Kong

 

All, of which would mean I’ll be in the right cities for the Test matches on the following dates –

 

Perth on the 14th & 15th (Day 1 & 2)

Melbourne on the 26th, 27th, 28th & 29th (Day 1, 2, 3 & 4)

Sydney on the 02nd, 03rd & 04th (Day 1, 2 & 3)

 

So if you’ve got any tickets going spare for these days, please let me know. As, you can see, I’ve been planning.  Chat soon.

About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

One thought on “Planning

  1. You definately have been busy Barry! And Australia? That sounds brilliant (aside from the cricket).  You have been planning indeed!  Catch you on MSN soon. Take care and look after yourself until then!!

    Posted by Catherine | June 5, 2006, 11:10

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

