//
you're reading...
Travel

Back…

Well, another vacation is over & I’m back on the mainland ready to get through another week… and a tough week it’ll be – I’ve got Mid Year Reviews to complete for the 15 staff I’m responsible for this week. First one is at 0615 tomorrow… so an early night tonight.
 
Anyways, the past couple of days have been pretty good. Yesterday I travelled down to Kilkeel to see Nico (for the last time) as a McBride. It was another pleasant day of sunshine, however it’s a hot drive in those conditions & it was a warm two hours behind the wheel. So we had a chat, an orange juice & headed down town for lunch… Kilkeel is getting to be bit of a yuppie hideout with trendy bar & sandwich shop. We then headed out to hew new home which is looking fantastic. It has an amazing kitchen – about two times the size of the one I grew up in – and you can see it being a warm home soon.
 
Add to that Friday night’s chat with GK Joinery about his impending marriage & new engagement and I’m beginning to see my world change… folks are getting married, mortgages, and although no sign yet, you just know kids are on the horizon!! Hmm… I might have to give into peer pressure if it gets any worse.
 
Yesterday evening however, provided some light relief from the thought of marriage & the like as I met up with old friend Julie. She’s just returned to the UK from a three month placement working on a horse farm in South Korea (a fantastic thing to be able to say you’ve done). As with all folks who do a bit of travel, I think she’s suffering a wee bit of return to home blues, which is sad to see, but not to be unexpected IMHO. She’ll get there, she always does – keep going Jules!!
 
And so I’m back in England. My day’s travel went as smoothly as could be possibly expected… car, flight, train, tube, train & bus all linked well & went on time with no delays. So all told, a 7 hour journey. It’s a tad warmer here than it is in the homeland, however, it’s extremely nice… so I’m off to enjoy.
About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

One thought on “Back…

  1. A 7 hour journey but at least there were no delays.  Lovely to see you again young Finbar – don\’t go jumping on that bandwagon just yet.  There are a few of us still left who aren\’t all rushing out to get mortgaged up etc!
     
    Hope the reviews went well

    Posted by Catherine | August 2, 2006, 13:52

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

