//
you're reading...
Travel

Surreal…

It’s been a funny couple of days down Essex way…
 
Yesterday I went with Alex to watch Charlton Athletic v New Zealand – an odd pairing in this day & age… it’s not often that Club teams take on National teams. It was a lovely day for it too… sun shone, 10,000 folks along with bit of a summery atmosphere and decent enough football on the pitch. NZ were actually a decent team & a couple of their players could find themselves playing at higher league levels in the next 5 years or so.
 
After that I headed down to the Thames for dinner with Aoife & Rob (College Chums) and instead of hanging for an hour we ended up staying for about 3 hours & had a lovely lasange (sp?) in the middle of it. The Thames on a pleasant summers evening is actually a lovely place to be. The atmosphere is relaxed, the boats moving are relaxing to watch, the buzz is nice & a London skyline sunset is something to be seen.
 
I say I was supposed to stay for one hour as I was supposed to go to Aldershot to say goodbye to Bola – a lassie on the GIT grad programme with the bank – as she’s leaving the UK to work for a voluntary organisation in India. I was supposed to get there about 1900 and leave about 2230 so that I could get my last train back to Chelmsford easily… I got there at 2240 so it didn’t quite go to plan. It was a very funny evening however, as Bo had friends around & we sat & chatted till the wee small hours. Some quality conversation around why some people should be exempt from paying Taxes ensued… but at the end of the night, once we’d walked (the cute) one of the party home and a few hours kip on the sofa, it was back to Chelmsford.
 
And a lovely afternoon it was too… dozing in the park was a delight & I’ve had a really good day. Though I think I’ll need to phone the ‘rents during the week as when Da called today I think I was a bit dopey on it so he didn’t get much chat out of me. I’ll sort that out, but in the mean time, sorry Da.
 
Anyways, a quiet week required now.
About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

