//
you're reading...
Travel

Loyalty Points

And so another week in the exciting world of Finbar on Tour passes to the archives. Well, when I say exciting, what I really mean is quiet, calm, err… perhaps dull.
 
In saying that, I’ve had a long week in work, so I suppose it’s only fair that I take a calm approach to my own quality time… but then I feel that I’m letting it slip if I’m not using it. Indeed, this week has felt like a routine if ever one did. Get up, Go to work, Come home from work, watch TV, make lunch, Go to bed.
 
That said, this week also involved a Queen’s University Alumni Quiz in London. It turned out to be reasonably good fun, which in a way was surprising. A couple of friends from Oxford were planning to travel down for it… in the end only one could make it out of the office. So we turned up, got allocated to teams & proceeded to attempt the questions. I ended up at a table with four lassies, from Dublin, Belfast, Tandragee & Fermanagh. We actually came second (on the tie break) and my new London Restaurant Guide is my new pride & joy… Actualy, the thing is worth £15!! Money in food obviously. So I’m now considering joining my London Association. Decent network of people there & of course a couple of mates too… also think I could get a few of the mates to join up as well.
 
And that’s been about the highlight of my week. In reference to the title, I’ve been thinking, why don’t train companies do loyalty points?? Something like AirMiles?? I reckon I could be on a fortune. I spent 11 hours on travel on Monday & Tuesday alone this week. Bit much, but all part of the cause.
 
Work is manic at the moment… so much so I actually brought my laptop home for the weekend. Now I’ve not cracked her open yet, but I think by mid afternoon I may be trying to work through the 90 odd items in my inbox.
 
I’ve also booked my next two NI games this week. Wales in Februray in Belfast, and Lichtenstein in March in Vaduz – actually I’ve only booked the outward flight (£16!!) so I’m waiting for the spring / summer timetables to be released. All I need to do now is get Australia sorted out properly… need to contact family, organise accomodation in a couple of cities & see how I get along. Not long now… 12 weeks left!!
 
Laters.
About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Loyalty Points

  1. You\’re obviously very good at the old general knowledge – I\’d definately lik to have you in my team for a quiz – I imagine you\’d be especially good at sports type questions! And that food guide sounds delicious to me around lunch time on a Sunday morning (I guess that, technically, it\’s afternoon but I just got dressed so we wont worry too much about labels.
     
    Hopefully next week isn\’t as hectic at work. AND, fingers crossed you don\’t need to open that work laptop at all!!  Take care and we\’ll talk soon.

    Posted by Catherine | September 17, 2006, 12:53
  2. Indeed matey, you were always quite good on the general knowledge side of things…Anyway, just wanted to tellya that I\’m still reading and also whether you can\’t change that horrible font, it\’s so difficult to read, half the time I quit halfway through your rather long posts… LOLSpeak soon

    Posted by Juan | September 20, 2006, 20:01

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

