//
you're reading...
Travel

I see stars

I’m home for a few days. I love coming home, particularly when I get to come down to Fermanagh & visit the homestead. It’s incredible how relaxing it all feels when I am milling about the land I grew up in. Why can’t it be like this all the time??
 
Anyways, the journey home was as usual… up early, get an expensive bottle of water in the plane station & fall asleep on the plane prior to the saftey presentation by the easyjet staff. Actually the flight was unusual in that it involved being beside a pretty young lady… you’d be surprised that in the 15 flights I’ve had this year this is the first time it’s actually happened… not that it mattered as I was asleep before she sat down.
 
The journey beyond that was also somewhat extraordinary as I met a guy I went to high school with at the bus stand outside the airport. I’ve not seen Rob since we left high school in 2000 and to be fair, bar a hair cut, he looks like the same lad from those heady days in Fivemiletown High & Community College. He’s now working in Brighton, which is a tad on the scary side as I work there regularly now, and did in fact live there at a time.
 
Small world.
 
Anyways, once back in Belfast I had a bike lesson in Lisburn… I’ve got my bike test there soon so hopefully that will stand me in good stead. It was good to get back on a bike, it had been over a month since my last experience – failing the test in Coleraine. It’s a nice thrill when you’re pelting along at 45 / 50 mile an hour knowing that a stone on the road could be the end of you.
 
And so to home & the family… there’s something about the three mile of road that leads towards the house which is just nice. I’ve driven over it a few times in the time I’ve been back & it’s just nice… the bushes & trees are a little bit bigger & wilder, but that’s about all that seems to change. And of course, mum’s home cooking. But after all that, I headed out with a friend who I’ve not seen in about three & half years. It was good to catch up… I like it when people are involved in my day, so a pleasant evening… yet when I got home, that was when I realised exactly what I was missing by not living in God’s county. I spent a full 15 minutes just standing on our yard at about 0200 staring at the sky. It suddenly dawned on me, that I couldn’t remember the last time I’ve seen the stars. Now that might sound crazy, but seriously, I can’t. They were beautiful, and so many. I even got to wish on a shooting star.
 
It’s amazing how the simple things can make such a difference.
About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

