//
you're reading...
Travel

Howdy

Well, day two… or is it three?? The old time difference & jet lag are certainly playing with my sense of the time space continium.

Anyways, it’s nearly 1100 here & Gered is on his way to collect me & bring me south to Wayne’s place. I’ve had my dip in the Indian this morning & taken a few photos of Cottesloe. After my swim yesterday I slept most of the afternoon & then mingled with the locals in the Hostel… Lots of Paddies – mostly from Donegal, although a few from Dublin & Kilkenny. Also a mad cap POM from the Lake District who spent the entire evening trying a Southern Irish accent, much to my mirth & much to the angst of the Dubbers…

Have to say it’s no wonder these people win more Olympic Medals per capita than anyone else… they’ve got public gyms on the grass beside the beach – chin up bars, step up stuff… everyone uses the beach but no one sun baths by the look of it (lack of Ozone the main reason).

The place is beautiful, and although a clear blue sky & rich blue ocean could be anywhere, it’s still lovely. The white sand also makes it pretty cool. It’s easy to see why some people stay. Chatting to one guy who’s not been back to Dublin in 15 years… and a lassie who left Kilkenny for a two week holiday in England, ended up there for 8 years & now is on a 2 year tour of Australia.

Not sure I could do it myself… it’s just a touch too far from home for that carry on… but maybe in a few years, when I’ve nothing to hold on to in the home place a few years out here in old age might be nice… besides, if I didn’t come home, I’d not see wee Norn Iron qualify for the Euro’s in ’08!!!

Anyways, I’ll drop you a line soon.

Fin
_________________________________________________________________
Be one of the first to try Windows Live Mail.
http://ideas.live.com/programpage.aspx?versionId=5d21c51a-b161-4314-9b0e-4911fb2b2e6d

About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Howdy

  1. Glad to see you keeping us all updated Barry! Sun bathing = skin cancer as far as I\’m concerned so looks like the Australian\’s have the right attitude over there – am I right is saying that suncream is much cheaper over there too?  Make sure you get plenty of factor 30+ on at all times!  Keep on enjoying it and keep on updating – it\’s good to hear everything\’s going well!

    Posted by Catherine | December 11, 2006, 13:40
  2. happy birthday wee brother hope you have a good one. looking forward to hearing from you soon.

    Posted by Mark | December 12, 2006, 15:44
  3. happy birthday wee brother hope you have a good one. looking forward to hearing from you soon.

    Posted by Mark | December 12, 2006, 15:45

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

