//
you're reading...
Travel

Sunshine State?

Well, I’ve travelled to Brisbane, state capital of Queensland, the Sunshine State. Since then, I’ve seen rain each & every day. No Kidding, I’ve seen less sunshine than your average Egyptian sees Snow. That said, it is rather warm here, not dropping below 26 during day light and goodness knows what it reaches when you do see blue sky.
 
I booked a flight north from Sydney, on the cuff so to speak, and arrived here mid afternoon on the 2nd. The journey was sold to me as a 25 minute flight… now that got me thinking as I knew it was a 10-12 hour drive… how can the Aussies do it in 25 minutes?! Well, the answer my friend is floating in the wind… or rather, QLD state doesn’t do daylight savings time like the southern states in this time zone. So my 25 minute flight turned out to be a 85 minute flight… and a rather good snooze if I do say so myself.
 
Given the weather, the tourist thing has been tempered somewhat… Indoor tours of the Gabba (Sports Stadium) and ferry cruises, and apparently the best Steakhouse in Australia (which was rather good!!). Yesterday, I travelled to meet up with a pen friend, who didn’t turn up!! So a dander through the shopping distict, and a car tour of the Northern Coast line, and today, I’ve been up the Sunshine coast to Noosa for a spot of sunbaking & sea swimming!! Yes, we finally got some sun between the showers!!
 
Anyways, dinner is cooking. I’m off to Frazer Island for the next couple of days… google if you want to know more… and then not long left. Take care!!
About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

