//
you're reading...
Travel

Traipsey about the world…

Well, it’s been a few weeks since I updated my blog & I apologise for that. I’m afraid I don’t have much of an excuse for it… March hasn’t actually been that busy since I got back to the office following my course. That said, the next two weeks should be as bout as manic as they get for 2007.
 
Tonight, I’m getting about three hours sleep… I’m getting up shortly after three to get the bus to the plane station as I’m off to Sunny Cork for an important Setanta Cup match between Cork City & Portadown. Basically, after a poor start to the tournament, the Ports need to win… or it’s bust. Funnily enough, this is the third year in a row we’ve played against Cork (and I’m pretty sure, third time in a row in Cork during this week of the year) and with a 1 win / 1 lose ratio so far it’s in the balance.
 
Cork has improved a fair bit around the river in recent years, certainly a lot since I first went there. That was when our school U-15 ping pong team were Ulster Champions & we were representing the province at the All Ireland finals. We went down on the train, with the girls from Cookstown High. Great days… really makes me think happily about School days… the best days of my life, certainly until I moved to England… been a few good days since, but school really was the zenith.
 
Anyways, nostalgia aside, I return from Cork on Wednesday evening. I’m then in work Thursday & Friday, before flying to Lichtenstein on Friday evening. It’s another important game, perhaps one of the most important in the past 10 years for NI. We’re favourites against Lichtenstein… a title we don’t wear well… and if we’re going to qualify, a win is an absolute must. I’m really looking forward to this game… perhaps as much as any away trip since my first back in 2002. I’m flying into Friedrichshafen in southern Germany actually, and travelling to the game on coach on the Saturday.
 
I then return from Lichtenstein on the Sunday evening and I’m in work on the Monday & Tuesday, before flying to NI on the Tuesday evening & watching NI v Sweden on the Wednesday evening. I’m working from home the Wedesday & Thursday at the brother’s house, so all good… and once that’s all done, I’m going to spend the rest of the week & weekend sleeping & relaxing.
 
In the past few weeks, not a huge deal has really gone on. March is an important month for birthdays & events… Mark’s B’Day, Alex’s B’Day, Harvir’s B’Day, Mother’s Day, and we’ve had several people in work leave… so it’s been a good month to have shares in Clinton Cards!!
 
Perhaps the most important sporting event of the first half of the year (and if you’re not into rugby the whole year) is the Cricket World Cup in the Windies. Ireland qualified for the first time ever this year… and were complete rank outsiders at the beginning of the tournament. And then the tournament started. Ireland proceded to draw with Zimbabwe in their first ever game in the World Cup!! A brilliant result, and one which we’d all have settled for before the tournament began. Then it all went a bit silly… Ireland BEAT Pakistan!! Pakistan are the 4th best team in the world… I’ve been trying to think of a footballing equivalent, and reckon if Portadown beat Brazil, that might come close. Of course, murphy’s law would have it happen on St Patrick’s Day!! They play the Windies on Friday, with qualification for the next round almost assured.
 
Anyways, time to get some of that sleep… take care & I’ll chat you up soon. Next time I chat you , hopefully I’ll be three wins richer.
 
Toodleloo.
About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

