//
you're reading...
Travel

Sweden

NI v Sweden.
 
Usually, this game would be over before it begins. Sweden have won four out of four, are top of the group & have players from several of Europe’s top leagues. NI are perpetual underdogs, from a small population, with players playing in the second league in England mostly. But this is Lawrie Sanchez’s side… anything, and I mean anything is possible. From the Ridiculous (Iceland) to the Sublime (England / Spain).
 
Add to this, we’re second in the group, with double digit points for the first time in years, and playing well… this is crunch time. A loss here isn’t the end of the world… but it’d make things harder… a point would be fantastic and well… a win… a scary thought. Still, wierder things have happened… Ireland v Pakistan in the cricket world cup for example.
 
So I’m nervous.
 
I’m also pretty tired… the past two weeks have taken their toll. I’m ready for the weekend, when I’m going to sleep lots, watch some DVDs and sleep some more… just finishing in time for work on Monday. Sounds idlyic. I’ve been to Cork, Lichtenstein, Belfast and in & out of London pretty much every day I’m in England for the past few weeks. Work is manic as well… and would I change a thing… not on your nelly.
 
And so it’s nearly time to quit working for today… and make ready for this evening. I’m not a superstitous soul, but I’m a creature of habit. I’ll check I’ve got my ticket three times, buy my programme, tie my scarf up the same way, stand in the same spot, read my programme in the same order as I always do. This is probably the biggest game of my life time.
 
I’m nervous.
About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

