//
you're reading...
Travel

The Shawshank Redemption

If you’ve not seen this movie, I don’t think you can claim to be someone who knows anything about movies. I’ve just had the pleasure of watching again (perhaps the sixth or seventh time I’ve seen it). Perhaps it’s because it’s a period movie, but it never seems to date. They still look & feel like they’re in that time.
 
The script is perfect for the mood of the movie, and when Tim Robins lifts his face to the rain in the final throws of the movie, the emotion is first rate… hope can set you free. Aside from the blatantly obvious aspects of the movie, the sound-track must also be commented on. There are several pieces of music in it which are full of hope and vigour. The score for the theme music itself sounds wonderful.
 
There aren’t many movies as good as this one that I’ve seen… Forrest Gump, Leon… actually they’re the only two which seem to bring the same level of emotion… perhaps Amelie also…
 
A nice way to end the day… and a long day it was too. Work has gone well these past couple of days, although I’ve been putting in the hours. I got in 44 hours this week in four days (to put that into perspective, most people work 35 hours and the European Work Time directive states that people can work no more than 48 – although the UK has a waiver on that). Not bad on many accounts. Some overtime would be good you’d think… I’d rather have that than days in lieu… but alas, I get paid for the job, not for the hours. Still, I enjoy my job which is good… I couldn’t imagine not enjoying my job. Even when I was in the factory, we always found ways to amuse ourselves… whether it was capers involving chicken or water, or just stirring with the other departments, there was always a laugh to be found. Dodging the column Grandad would call it.
 
Anyways, best I get along… not got much planned for the weekend… might mow the lawn if the weather stays good. Watch a few DVD’s and maybe cover off a few work emails… also got Cat playing funny text games… that might impact on my weekend somehow, but she’s not giving away much detail at the moment. Happy Easter… hope someone, somewhere gets you that egg you always wanted (which reminds me, best get my egg!!).
About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

