//
you're reading...
Travel

Mixed Bag

Well, after the pretty good day I had on Thursday, Friday turned out to be bit of a mare!! Firstly, I was working in Andover, which is a jaunt to get to at the best of times… 3 hour 30 minute journey from sunny Essex. So then I get there… and actually the work day turns out alright. My meetings were good, got good stuff done & even got a free dinner. No wrong there!! So then I get out of my 3 and half hour meeting to find 5 text messages, 3 emails and 2 voicemails… all about football!!
 
Lawrie Sanches has resigned as Northern Ireland manager with immediate effect to take over as manager of Fulham FC on a full time basis.
 
Needless to say, I was gutted. The man has taken NI from the depths to the highs, to top of our Qualifying group no less, and with our best chance of qualification for any tournament since the mid 90’s looming, it’s now back to reality with a severe bump. I don’t begrudge the man… if someone offered me 10 times my current salary to do a job I really wanted to do in a place I really wanted to do it, I’d not be shy with making the same move. I still can help being disappointed mind.
 
Secondly, I lost one of the little fabric coverings from my hands free kit. Not both, but one… I hate it when that happens.
 
Anyways, the rest of my weekend travelled along as they’re prone to do these days. Very quietly. I headed to the pictures & watched Spiderman 3. Not too bad atcually… I’d heard mixed reports. It is definately darker than the other two I thought, and that in itself is no bad thing. I wee bit of goth never killed anyone… I don’t think.
 
Anyways, the rest of the weekend was dull… it rained a fair bit of it & that restricted access to the real world… but to be fair, I’m not sure I’d have ventured too far. The lawn needs mowed mind.
 
Finally, today came and it was a cracking day at work. The craic was 90 as all the boys were on top form. Meetings have gone well again, and I’ve found out that my boss’s boss’s boss is working on my behalf to get me that pay rise. Good fellas, keep it up!! This evening however, I went for an ice skating lesson. We’ve got this scheme in work called "Matched Learning" where if you put money in a pot, the company will match it (to a point) and you can then spend the money on learning courses on pretty much anything you want. I decided to spend a mere £25 of my pot on some ice skating lessons. Tonight was #1. I actually enjoyed it… I fell on my arse the once, but hey, if you want to make an omlette you’ve got to break a few eggs.
 
After I had that rush you get when you’ve done something which scares you, but realised that it’s not that bad. I love that rush… overcoming something you’ve got a problem with and making yourself a better, more rounded person. Always challenge your boundaries… when you stop doing that, it’s all over. What’s there left to live for?! You’ll merely stop growing and the world will pass you by.
 
Party On!!
About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

