//
you're reading...
Travel

Right… time to do a job then.

Shalom.
 
Well, it’s just a few days until the next phase of Qualification for the 2008 European Championships in Austria & Switzerland commences. On Friday I fly to Latvia with several mates from wee Norn Iron. Perhaps our biggest game since the early ’90’s. I have to say I’m getting pretty excited at this point as it’s been a wee while since I’ve had some quality time of work. Our trips to Latvia this weekend and then to Iceland next week are really the first full days of non-work time I’ll have had since January. It’s been a long slog.
 
I have to say Latvia should be good fun, but Iceland will be one of my highlights of 2007. I’ve really been looking forward to this trip… it’s been up there with Lichtenstein in terms of anticipation.
 
I’ve got my currency, I’m prepped for playing my part in getting the results so hopefully wee Norn Iron can do a job out there… six points and we’re on the verge of qualification. One good fluke after that & we might just be there!!
 
Anyways, you may have noticed a rather different opening to my blog this evening… this is a tribute to a lassie who is on her summer internship with us at the moment. Debs, is fluent in Hebrew and is actually an English, Morroccan Jew. Not a combination I think you find every day. Anyways, we’ve been sharing cultural experiences over the past couple of weeks whilst she’s been doing some work for me. It’s been quite interesting learning about her background, and the influences she’s had on her whilst growing up & at University in Manchester. It’s funny how two people can be from different parts of the world, have different faiths & still actually grow up with similar experiences (albeit the variables change in coding parlance).
 
Anyways, fingers crossed for Norn Iron wins over the next week or so… Come on you beauties!!
About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

