//
you're reading...
Travel

Stress

I was asked to complete a survey this week about my employer. It’s part of the Top Companies Survey (or something like that) which aims to rank the top 100 companies to work for in the UK. So I get this four page booklet with about 60 questions on various thoughts & opinions… usual malarkey about inspirational leadership, the reasoning my company does Charitable work, etc.
 
The two closest to my heart were Cash & Stress. When I read out the "have you displayed signs of stress in the past 12 months?" question to a colleague, he proceeded to name serveral patterns in my behaviour which were signs of stress. I have to say, it was a bit disconcerting… I know I’ve had some stressful days, but for him to point it out so bluntly made me think a wee bit about my priorities… which funnily enough this week are all about work.
 
The second area was about the money questions… do you think you get paid enough, do you think you could earn more elsewhere… etc. I probably could… indeed, I believe I could… and so I told one of my other colleagues a few weeks ago… to which he responded, "why are you still here then??". Some people don’t get it… not everyone works for cash. I’m on a 6 year plan to develop myself in to a sellable asset. Then it’ll be about the money, but today?? Of course not. Don’t get me wrong, being rewarded for my work is good… but guaranteeing my vacation requests is a good way to reward me. Helping me to further develop is a good way to reward me… keeping your bleedin’ promises on reward is a good way to reward me.
 
Anyways, I’m coming down with a cold… it’s in it’s early stages… perhaps a session in the gym & steam room will help to kill it, but I’m not hopeful. Wonder if it’s stress related…
 
About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

