//
you're reading...
Travel

Another Year, another Challenge

And a Happy New Year to you!!
 
Well, it’s nearly the end of the naughty decade… we’ve started the penultimate year, and I guess, as is normal to do at this time of the calendar, it’s time to look ahead to what challenges & exciting surprises lie ahead. For those of you who know me reasonably well, you’ll know I like to set myself goals for the year. In ’06 I did my Bike Licence, in ’07 I did my Ice Skating Certificates… so what about ’08??
 
Well, I think I’ve got a number of simple and a number of harder challenges in mind… firstly, I’d like to spend a bit more time on myself… so that will include having Breakfast in the house more often, eating more fruit, shaving once in a while more often (when I was thinking of this one I was saying twice a week… but that’s not going to happen I don’t think, so at least once a week would be a start!!), getting out of the office on time and making sure I go to the pool or the gym at least 4 times a week. I was also considering telling myself to go to bed earlier… but that’s not going to happen…
 
So if I can get through all of that in ’08 I’ll be a better person for it.
 
Secondly, I’d like to get some more certificates… and I’m thinking of two things in particular. One is to learn to play the guitar, so I’m going to have to buy a guitar, get some lessons and enter an exam. Having done grades on the Baritone, if I’m to be any way competent on the Guitar, I reckon Grade One is a must, but Grade Two should be my stretch target for the year. Secondly, I’d like to learn a new language, or at least get back to a language class… and given I’ve got some Basic French, and a starter in Italian under my belt, I was wondering if Hindi or Spanish would be good choices?? Hindi would be nice to learn as I work with India quite a bit in my current job, and I’d like to travel there… Spanish would open up South America for me… so it’s a bit 60:40 in my head at the moment… I guess availability of courses in London or Chelmsford will determine my choice.
 
Thirdly, I’d like to change jobs this year, still within the bank, but something different. I’m thinking another Project Management Role, or a Change Management Role somewhere else in the Bank… I’m not sure if that’ll mean London or elsewhere, but I’ve got between now & August to sort it out… that’ll be two years in my current job and that’ll be sufficient to have my CV bolstered.
 
And finally, I’m going to need to work out what to do with my vacation allocation for ’08. I’ve got 33 days to take this year and it already looks like there will be limited NI games as the Feb Friendly won’t be taking place in all likelihood. A week in NI in July, and probably some vacation around December will be the standard taken up and there are Four International Dates in the Autumn that will probably take up a week or so. There has also been talk of a tour of China, but until I see something on paper I’ll not be booking for that (although provisional saving has commenced)… if that doesn’t happen, I’m also considering a week’s volunteering in Africa… but I’ll need to do some serious thinking on that one… we’ll see.
 
Anyways, I’ll close with an apology on not keeping this up to date the past couple of months… been a bit scatty with it for some reason. I’ll try to keep it better through ’08. Well, I’ll try.
 
Have fun.
About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

