//
you're reading...
Travel

A moment of Clarity

It’s been a funny old day… but before I come to that, I had a different, but enjoyable experience this evening on the way home. Having left the office at 1800, realising that my evening was dead anyways, I decided to eat out. I headed for Baroosh in Chelmsford, which is a cross between a coffee shop, restaurant, Bar and Club. At 1900 on a Monday evening, with less than a dozen patrons, it’s in the kind of quiet restaurant / coffee shop zone.
 
Anyways, I was reading a special report in the Economist on "our nomadic future", an article about the future of society given the impending explosion of wireless technology across the mainstream (if it’s not there already). And it was backing up every debating point I’ve ever raised with my boss about where I should be based… i.e. not in the office. Now, don’t get me wrong, I enjoy working in England & I get a kick out of the opportunity. But I don’t want to work here. I could have a very different life, and potentially one much more fullfilling back in the homeland.
 
I could work from my parent place… I would save a fortune in Rent… I would travel to London twice a month & it’d cost me less than if I was to commute every day. I could travel to any LTSB site for the equivalent of what it costs me currently to travel. I would get back more of my day with no commute. I would be surrounded by friends & family and support my own people much better. Nirvana you could say.
 
So there I was, eating a pleasant dinner, in a pleasant surround, reading an article & scratching down ideas about my future, and indeed, some creative thoughts about how we as a team might work better together… by utilising a blog for example.
 
I guess this is a theme now for me, following a "develoment event" which was held at Heythorp Park in Oxfordshire. There, we had bit of a review about where we, as individuals and as an organisation, wanted to be in five years & how we intended to get there. Basically, I need to learn, and I need to learn fast, I also need to apply my learning & be at the forefront of thinking and application of that thinking to make me and my department World Leaders.
 
An interesting few days.
About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

