//
you're reading...
Travel

Settling In

I’ve been in the flat now two nights and I’m starting to get settled. If you fancy a wee view of the flat, scroll down to the bottom of the On-Tour homepage & you’ll see a linked YouTube video of the pad.
 
There are still several important pieces to complete… the Kitchen needs more power points, the Lounge needs the cabling for the TV / DVD sorted out, the study needs furniture… and a few other bits & bobs still to sort. But I’m very much warming to the place. I’ve got the wireless network sorted out & whilst the speed doesn’t appear to be that great (YouTube videos appear to be downloading slowly) it’s performance isn’t bad for the surfing I’ve been working on so far.
 
Yesterday I headed into work & got my office furniture sorted out – well, rearranged. I then attempted to get some things for the office down the Mall, but there doesn’t appear to be a large scale stationery shop near the office. This is annoying as when I ask the Admin team to provide me with something – white board cleaner, for example – they send someone to do the job for me. That might sound like a great move, but it stops me from doing what I need to do when I need to do it as I have to wait for someone to come to the office. If you’ve worked with anyone from India, or from Fermanagh, you’ll appreciate why this can get on your nerves!!
 
Also, in the Mall, the security is incredible. You get the car checked over before getting into the car park (including boot), you get scanned on the way in, and you aren’t allowed to bring bags into any of the bigger shops – including shopping bags. That said, shopping in decent shops isn’t very different from the UK… although asking for a special seems to be the norm.
 
My razor is still not here yet… it’s in a couple of boxes I’m waiting on DHL to deliver to the office… hopefully they’ll arrive soon as I’m fending off sparrows who want to use some of the growth as nesting material. I promise I’ll shave soon mum!! Anyways, I guess I should go & investigate cleaning the kitchen… boo.
About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

One thought on “Settling In

  1. I\’m laughing at the sparrow comment.  Sean and I are amazing about the Mall security (we\’re both being geeks and using our laptops – I was telling him about the strong security).
     
    I\’ll check out the video some time when it\’s NOT 00:09 and I have to get up for work in the morning  :o(
     
    Nice to see you writing though – I can see that I have a lot of catch up on!

    Posted by Catherine | July 28, 2008, 00:10

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

