//
you're reading...
Travel

Calcutta / Kolkata

Another busy week ‘offshore’ for me as I finally got the chance to travel up to Kolkata to view the operation there which I’ll also be managing. Around 280 staff up there at present, which means in total I’m responsible for about 420 – appears I’d got my numbers wrong on a previous count… – so no pressure there then.
 
I stayed at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Kol, and whilst it was pretty nice, the staff left somewhat to be desired… they interrupted my dinner to try & sell me a deal on dinner for the following night… rude I think you’ll agree, but they didn’t just do it once, they had the audacity to do it twice!! Cheeky sods. Also, I had some plaster fall off the ceiling so I had to get moved across the hotel, and in the second room the a/c unit trap door came undone in the middle of the day, so I had to sit at midnight waiting for an engineer to sort that out… I binned my loyalty card application form after that one.
 
Speaking of loyalty cards, I’m now in three separate Air Carrier Points programmes… BA, Virgin Atlantic and Jet Airways… it might start to get complicated!! Anyways, I’m flying to the UK with Jet next weekend for a month, so hopefully I’ll get some points & get enough for some free flights around India!! That sunny weekend in Goa might not be too far away after all!! Their in flight food isn’t too bad on domestic flights, so hopefully their International fayre is good too!!
 
Outside of work, I’m afraid, I’ve not achieved much this week bar putting in an expenses claim for £2.3K… sitting waiting on it to come in now… tick, tock… I did however managed to witness my first Indian Football experience… Football & Monsoon don’t really combine well. It was a mud bath of extraordinary proportions. Looked a bit like fun mind.
 
The Olympics have started & I’m trying to watch as much of it as possible… I do enjoy the Gymnastics… the strength and grace those people have is immense. I can take & leave alot of the other sports, but will be trying to see as much as I can as I missed Athens almost completely.
 
The IFA Championship has also started with the Ports winning their first two games, and sitting top of the league. We stuff Armagh 7-0 on the opening day of the season & followed that up with a 5-1 win over Banbridge… a good start & hopefully we’ll keep it going & get promoted ASAP. The ground changes at Shamrock park continue apace too, with the ‘New Shed’ nearing readiness… I believe it’ll be open in the next two weeks!!
 
 
As I said above, I’m in the UK for a few weeks… actually I’m in 5 countries, 10 cities and the longest stint I’ve got in any bed is 3 days… I see London, Glasgow, Edinburgh, Clabby, Lurgan, Gloucester, Newport, Bratislava, London, London and London… I see about 7 airports as well… but all in the name of progress, eh?! Wonder what size of forrest I’ll have to plant to offset my carbon footprint??
 
I’m in Glasgow for the Scotland v NI game on Aug 20th and then to Bratislava for Slovakia v NI game in early September. After that, it’s back to Belfast for NI v Czech Rep (Cat, shall we do Supper with Lou?? I’ll drop you a line when I’m back in Norn Iron).
 
As I’ll be travelling I’ll probably not get much opportunity to update or email… so until next time, Namaste.
About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

