//
you're reading...
Health and wellness, News and politics

Solar Eclipse

I like to think I know what’s going on around me… and I make a point of reading the NI BBC and UK BBC web pages daily, yet I managed to completely miss the fact that yesterday (I’m guessing yesterday because it was in today’s paper), India witnessed the longest Solar Eclipse the world has seen in over an hundred years!!

D’oh!!

If I’d been paying attention, I probably would have taken the effort to go & see the eclipse… it’s an event which whilst not always demanding my attention because they’re usually on the other side of the planet, intrigues me. They don’t happen often, and I’m well of the opinion that if I am bless with old age, I’d like to have the experience to share with anyone willing to listen to a doting old geezer.

Anyways, my chance has passed for now, and I guess I’ll just have to pay more attention.

That said, I do know that we’re experiencing a ‘solar maximum’ at the moment… I know this, because recently I’ve been struggling to sleep (I’d put this down to a bit of jet lag and being in a hotel). My mate Darren reckons that it’s possible that the ‘solar maximum’ is causing my insomnia and indeed may be playing with my dreams.

Now ordinarily I’d be sceptical about this sort of thing… dreams are caused by eating the wrong kinds of foods close to bed, in my less than scientific experience. Anyways, as I was surfing last night, in the wee Indian Standard Time hours, I got chatting to Darren… and speaking about it, he says “are you having weird dreams?”… and he’s right, I was. Darren reckons the ‘maximum’ is a possible explanation.

A ‘solar maximum’, for those of you who were like me yesterday, is a lot of solar activity, solar flares & the like.

Now, was this just good luck or is there really something to it?? Can radiation, all that way away, really be causing me sleeping issues, with me protected behind the Ozone layer, and the best roof that the Starwood Hotel Group could muster in Delhi?!

About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

