//
you're reading...
Health and wellness, Travel

It isn’t always happy…

Well, it’s been a thoroughly miserable start to the week… of what is a typically difficult week anyways. 28th of September is the date I left home (the second time), and this year marked five years of living away from Northern Ireland. It’s pretty poignant for me, as the five year plan is practically up!!

According to the plan, my next job should be in Northern Ireland… and next summer is the timescale… which is interesting, because if I am in my current role in June, I’ll be at my two year rule, and ready to move on… so the plan could still happen.

Obviously a lot of other variables could alter that… but the plan is still actually on, even though I’m on the other side of the planet!!

I don’t actually know if that means I should be happy or not though… do I want to go back to NI now?? It’s always been home and it’s still where I want to settle, but now?? I’ve put in plenty of miles (more than most literally) and yet I’ve only seen a small part of the world (15% according to an online map I keep that tells me where all I’ve stayed) and I’ve got itchy feet I fear…

And I am still relatively young…  I’m only 27 afterall!!

It was also a week where two of my best friends in Mumbai told me that they’re getting ready to leave. Kelvin & Sue are handing in their notice in the next month & will probably be out of country in the new year. Kelvin is a great mate, one of the normal ones in the Expat world… which is a big, old, goldfish bowl, and that wee bit of normality is great. Someone, who you can sit down and watch the football with & talk about sensible & normal things.

And also, another Friend will be leaving soon, and it’s only really sinking in that Sarah will be gone in 8 weeks or so… Sarah’s another one who is not like the rest of the set… she’s got a beautiful perspective on life, and so much enthusiasm for life it’s hard to keep up at times. But she’s been great in just forgetting the rest of the world around you from time to time… and in a place like Mumbai, ‘break out’ time is hard to come by.

So yeah, it’s not always happy when you’re away from home.

About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

