//
you're reading...
Travel

January & February… where am I going?!

It’s the 13th February, and honestly, I don’t know how.
 
I got back to Mumbai on the 5th January, and since then, I’m not totally convinced I’ve had a full week in my own apartment. I’ve been back & forth to Delhi as usual, Bangalore twice, and a trip to the UK, at reasonably short notice. And in Feb, it’s not got much better. I’ve also started getting people calling me things like ‘international jet setter’ and so on.
 
Anyways, the Bangalore trips were actually good fun. I got to stay in the Leela Palace hotel for the first (and second) time. It’s a pretty awesome building, properly reflecting the ‘Palace’ bit of it’s title. I also got one of the best steaks I’ve had in ages!! Anyways, we were prepping & eventually delivering a whole new work culture to all our Indian suppliers in a two day workshop. It was fantastic, a really slick performance by the whole team.
 
I then had to travel back to the UK for 12 days, to supervise one of my suppliers around the UK processes we manage. This meant we were in Hove, Newport, London, Chelmsford, Birmingham, Bristol & Brighton for work & I managed to slip in a weekend in Northern Ireland, and a weekend in Swansea visiting friends. The weekend at home was short & sweet, but I got to see my parents, brother & sis-in-law, and the grandparents. My maternal Grandmother isn’t too well at the moment, so it was nice to catch up with her & see her laughing.
 
I also got to go for what I described as a ‘farmer dinner’ in Sally’s of Aughnacloy… by that I mean, large steak, peppercorn sauce, potato, broccoli, onion rings… bliss. I was getting a bit fed up with hearing "We’ll go to an Indian restaurant & Barry can pick."… p’ah to that.
 
In Swansea, I went along with Kevlin Cery – MD of the Snowball Project – to see Swansea beat Preston North End 2-0. Kelvin & his wife Sue used to live in Mumbai, but returned to the UK in December. It was nice to catch up & try Laverbread – essentially seaweed & spices – with my breakfast. Interesting… that’s all I say.
 
And so back to India, but not to Mumbai. I had to go to Delhi to meet up with my Director & his boss the Managing Director of my Business Unit within the company. They were doing a quick tour of India for a week and ended up in Mumbai on Friday, where I caught up with them again.
 
And now, I’m in Kolkata. I’ve come over here to watch some of the India v South Africa test match in Eden Gardens, before travelling to Delhi to work there for part of the week. I’ve then got Thursday in Mumbai, before flying to Sri Lanka on the Friday morning for a well earned break, by way of a long weekend!! This time, I’m going to go to Galle, on the south coast and to another village called Unawatuna.
 
The week after, I’ve actually got some time in Mumbai!! And then it’s March… and more travell opportunities exist!! It’s good fun this travel malarkey!!
About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

