//
you're reading...
Education, Travel

Visas, banks and beards

Well, it certainly has been a while since I’ve blogged here… in fact, the UK has a new Prime Minister, and a Coalition government… the first since… well, I wasn’t even a twinkle in anyone’s eyes…

I guess so much stuff has happened, that this could be a silly length post… I’ll try to give the high level details & perhaps I’ll tell more at a later time. The last time I posted, I’d just come back from Vietnam, where steak & guns were order of the day, and had just completed my second assignment for my degree. As it turned out, I passed – again with a First class score – and since I’ve completed my third assignment, with a similar score. In fact, with 35% of the total marks awarded, I’ve already bagged 24% of the module to keep… or in other parlance, I’m averaging 73%… a First. There’s obviously a long way to go, but I’m pretty pleased with progress.

Since my last post, I’ve managed to secure a new Indian Employment Visa… this wasn’t a simple affair, at least certainly not as simple as I thought it would be, however, I’ve got one now (well technically I’ve got a 3 month extension whilst my paperwork is being prepared in Delhi), and I guess it’s time to look forward rather than back.

I do however know the Indian Visa process intimately for UK citizens, so if you want some consultancy, I’m your man, at very reasonable prices!! Joking aside, it was a stressful time, and not one I’d want to repeat!!

I’ve also managed to get an Indian Bank account with HSBC… unfortunately my employer doesn’t have an Indian Retail presence, so I had to go with the opposition… but my bosses can rest easy, it only took me 13 months to open an account here… I kid ye not!! Mostly through the ineptitude of my own finance team, but sure… it’s nothing if not entertaining!! You never quite know what’s going to happen next.

There’s also been an ash cloud over most of Europe since my last post… wow, I’ve seen a lot in the last month or two… I should have blogged more!!

And finally, I’ve grown a beard… yes, my mid-life crisis is clearly upon me at 28… there’s no real reason… well, my Mother would say laziness, and she wouldn’t be far wrong I suppose, but I like it. Admittedly, I’m not sure that any of my friends like it, but sure, it’s good on me for now. I actually wanted to work out how to make a small video on my laptop to say hello & show you the wonder in all it’s hairy glory, but unfortunately, patience (yes I am a Hetherington) and capability (I haven’t read the instruction manual yet) are holding me back, and as it’s now midnight in India, I’m going to give in for tonight.

It’s been a productive evening though… I’m nearly at the end of Season five of LOST, I’ve managed to clear most of the Kitchen, the Laundry, and make my bed… all I need to do now is fall into it.

Manyana.

About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

