//
you're reading...
Hobbies

Pancakes… the home way

I think I caused mild concern at home recently, when I asked my parents for a pancake recipe last week. I’m sure they were thinking, “he’s cracked”, or in a best case scenario “he’s a bit late for pancake day!” The truth, I’m delighted to say was a simple panging for home made pancakes – the way my Mum does them!! – after listening to Dina talk about the “amazing” pancakes her Mommy does for her.

So, armed with my list of ingredients, I headed for the supermarket, to be honest, not expecting to find all the ingredients I wanted. As it turned out, I was right, but not where I thought I would be… for I couldn’t find plain flour… at all. I actually had 8 varieties of flour to choose from, but unfortunately, plain wasn’t an option.

The other failing I had was that I don’t own a food measuring scale… so 150g of flour would have to be measured by sight… uh huh.

Now, it’s been a while since I’ve done pancakes, but you know, they’re simple & quick. You can mix up the, err… mix, and be cooking and done inside 30 minutes… if you’ve got mix left over, when you go back, it can be a pancake feast inside five!! Result.

So on Saturday morning for Breakfast, I had home made pancakes, and I’ve just had another bowl full there now for my Monday afternoon Lunch. Outrageously nice. There’s something to be said about doing some of this stuff yourself from time to time – and goodness knows with me when I say from time to time, I’m probably saying from year to year!!

So with my thirst for a taste of home quenched, it’s time to do some studying I guess. I’ve got my fourth assignment to hand in this week, and as per usual, a little behind on my reading. But I’m sure I’ll be fine… just sure.

About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

