//
you're reading...
Travel

Housing Misery

Well… I’ve been back in the UK now since the 13th September & I am currently sat at my father’s PC typing up this entry. My previous post indicated that an offer I’d put in on a flat had been accepted… it’s since collapsed after the landlord pulled out. As a consequence, as I type this up today, I do not have anywhere to live in London for when my new job starts on the 1st October.

To be honest, it’s been an awful experience trying to find somewhere to live that ticks the boxes of comfort, cleanliness and cost. I’ve been in & out of the estate agents in East Dulwich and Camberwell more often than I think is normal, and yet I’m still without a home.

When I had the offer accepted, I then booked flights to travel back to NI to spend a few days relaxing… and I’ve been doing that, though I have still had to review gumtree.com and estate agent websites to see what’s going on and research prices & locations.

That said, it’s been nice to be home. I got here on Wednesday and have been sleeping in my own bed very peaceably since. I’ve been enjoying Mum’s cooking and visiting family & friends. I caught up with Auntie Susan, Granda & Granny last night in Lisbellaw before meeting up with Rod in Enniskillen. Good times & good people. Unfortunately, Granda isn’t feeling so great at the moment. He’s a big age & has slowed down a bit since I last saw him, but hopefully he’ll be feeling better for my visit. This evening, I’m planning to head over to see my other Granny in Lisnaskea & to catch up on life with her.

This past few days in England have been greatly helped by the generosity of friends – Alex & Charlotte took me into their home when I landed in England, in Reading and Dave & Pauline (and little Archie) let me stay with them in London for a few days also. A big thank you to them all – and when the opportunity allows itself, an invite to the house warming party too!! They’ll get prime seats at the table!!

And so I’m back to London on Sunday evening & back to the house hunting on Monday afternoon. Fingers crossed!!

About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

