//
you're reading...
Hobbies

500 Days of Summer

So today I have arrived in Perth, sadly the day that the Freemantle Doctor decided not to blow across the beach at Cottesloe. To be honest today hasn’t really been much of an event, I got up, cleaned up, headed for breakfast and jumped on a bus to Perth.

I found my hostel, check-in and had a doze. Since waking up at 1600 I’ve headed down to the Western Australia Cricket Association (WACA) ground to see what the journey down on Friday would be like. After a quick walk around I headed back to the hostel, read a bit, checked email and then sat down to watch a movie called ‘500 days of summer’… possibly the least macho thing I’ll watch in ‘macho’ Australia.

However, within five minutes I was hooked on what was appealed to me as the freshest attempt at a light-hearted story since Amelie.

It’s the story of Tom (played by Joseph Gordon-Levitt) who meets and falls in love with Summer (Zooey Deschanel) a lady who effectively leads him a merry dance as she’s already got a boyfriend who she marries. Boo for Tom and down with Summer I say.

Yet the juxtaposition (yes, I really did just use the word juxtaposition & no, I’m not a drama student) of the movie was superb. It jumped backwards & forwards through the 500 days since Tom met Summer from highs to lows backed up by a sound track that induces you in. In short, I loved it.

About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

