//
you're reading...
Travel

Christmas in Melbourne

I landed in Melbourne on the 23rd December and was collected by Kim, Dad’s cousin and we headed back to his family home in Sandringham in Southern Melbourne – it was my first time to see Kim & his wife Karen, in four years since I was last in the city for the 2006/2007 Ashes series. His daughters, Kelly & Kylie, stayed with me a few years ago when I lived in Chelmsford. This time, I also met Luke, Kelly’s long term boyfriend. All pleasant people, and all determined to rib me regarding the current Ashes Series. After a lovely dinner, Kim dropped me off at a local Restaurant to meet up with Kylie, Jacinta & Kelly Nash (two of the girls’ friends who also stayed with me in Chelmsford) for a brief catch up & we were on to Christmas Eve 2010.

I started my day out with a gentle stroll around the Sandringham area, working my way around and discovering the train timetable that would take me to the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG). That afternoon Kelly, Luke & I headed over to one of Luke’s friends place for a Christmas Eve BBQ. The father of the house, Tim, made his money in the Shoe business and it was pretty interesting to chat to him about business and his views about living in Australia and England (he was 4th Generation English-Australian). He said that he feels at home every time he lands in London on business!!

After the BBQ, Kelly & I headed to a local hotel to try & meet Kylie to bring in Christmas Day, however, despite being in the queue from 2130, at 2220 we were told that the hotel was full and that no one else would be getting in!! Word was that the hotel hadn’t expected as many people and hadn’t staffed up… it was free on the door and they turned patrons away, not what I would describe as a robust business model. Back at the house, Kelly, Luke, Kim, Karen and I watched TV.

And so it was Christmas Day. Merry Christmas Everyone, God Bless and Have Fun.

Edit: I’ve published this a full week late, so sorry for that, but Christmas wishes to one & all.

About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

