//
you're reading...
Health and wellness, Hobbies

10,000 Steps a Day

Whilst in Melbourne, out for a walk on Christmas Day, my Dad’s cousin – Kim Hetherington – mentioned that he was taking part in a ‘10,000 Steps a Day’ challenge. The idea is that you take 10,000 steps a day… d’uh. According to those in the know, 10,000 steps is the equivalent to five miles. I repeat that is FIVE MILES!!

According to some, the theory is that 10,000 steps a day is the right level of exercise to complete daily to have a healthy lifestyle without the need for extra exercise. I have read one source that suggests this theory came from Japan around 40 years ago. The British Heart Foundation reckon that 10,000 steps a day can give you a strong heart. The Medi-Guru reckons that 10,000 steps a day helps lowers the risk of diabetes.

So, in the spirit of a new year & a new start, I’ve started to track my daily step count on my Sony Ericsson W995 – which has a built in pedometer. As the BBC article above notes, the average person does 4,000 – 6,000 steps a day and for me last week, I managed 6,915 as my average.

So, week one and it’s not exactly hugely above average, however, it’s taken me a bit of effort to get there. Each day since I’ve been back, I’ve walked to work – admittedly I’ve not walked back – which is around 3,000 steps. I’ve made sure I’ve walked to Tesco / Asda when I’ve needed to go grocery shopping. And still I’m not really near the 10,000 a day.

Today, I’ve managed 7,400 steps to this point… I fear I’m going to need more activity in my day to make this up to 10,000 a day. It looks like I’m going to have to incorporate a lunch time walk into my day to try & get closer to the 10,000 target. The BBC website also talks about slowly increasing steps, so a few walks extra a week and I’ll be building up to the target.

If I can sort this bit out and get back to swimming and a healthier Barry awaits…

About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Distraction Through Fun and Entertainment « Dina's Soapbox - January 23, 2011

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

