//
you're reading...
Hobbies

Not a bad Saturday

It’s nearly bed time at the end of another week and it’s not been a bad way to end the week if the truth be told. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed my Saturday.

It started out mundane enough, as I traipsied off to Tesco for the weekly grocery shop… with the added aim of gathering all the necessary ingredients for my mother’s Wheaten Loaf recipe. I’ve discovered this past two weekends that actually, before 1100 on a Saturday morning the normal chaos of weekend Grocery Shopping isn’t too bad. That said, my journey wasn’t a complete success as they didn’t have Butter Milk available.

Once home, I decided it was time to try an old favourite for Breakfast – Ham & Cheese Omelette – and if I do say so myself, with a slice of buttered toast and a glass of orange, it was a pretty good way to start the day!! I even had a banana.

My duties for the day finished with topping up the Gas & Electricity cards for the house (a journey which resulted in failure to find Butter Milk in another three local, smaller stores) and I was ready for the 1245 kick off from the Barclays’ Premier League, Wolverhampton Wanderers v Liverpool.

The game went pretty well for me, as Liverpool played some of their best football against one of the weaker sides in the Division in years. Normally when I watch Liverpool, they play fantastically against the big teams, but seem to give the weak ones too much respect. Not today. Raul Mireles and Fernando Torres treated ‘Wolves’ with the contempt they deserve and put away three goals, satisfying for their own reasons.

After the game, Dina & I headed for the Imperial War Museum – about a 10 minute bus journey from our street (if even that to be honest) where we looked around some of the displays there. They predominately relate to the two World Wars, however they also touched upon other 20th century conflicts. In truth, we only saw two of the six floors, so we’ve decided we’ll go back another day.

The two main exhibitions we walked around were on Submarines (an exhibit which was interactive, though mainly aimed at Kids) and one on Secret Warfare. This one was quite interesting though I found the level of detail far too high level – though I did learn what the MI in MI5 and MI6 stands for… though I can’t tell you, it’s a secret…

The Imperial War Museum did however have a huge research centre which the public are able to enter and use, so I may spend some time there over the coming months doing a bit of light reading… it looked far too interesting for me to resist long term!!

And on getting home, we made some dinner, I played some ‘Ashes 2009’ on my PS3 and then we watched some of the last season of ‘24’… which Jack Bauer doing his bit to save us all from terrorists (again). A beautifully chilled evening… and yet I’m absolutely ready to crash now. It’s time for bed.

About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

One thought on “Not a bad Saturday

  1. If all else fails try natural yoghurt instead of buttermilk you can thin with milk if too thick, the results are still pretty good.

    Posted by Frustrated Democrat | January 23, 2011, 05:43

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

