//
you're reading...
Education, Hobbies, Organizations

Graduation Day!!

For the past four months I have been, along with my team, attending a training course which is intended to improve our ‘Consultancy’ skills. We covered things like creating proposals, improving presentation quality, managing groups of stakeholders & individual stakeholders as well.

Over the course we had day long sessions (I had a couple in Edinburgh) followed by ‘homework’ which we had to present at the next session. All this good effort came to an end on Thursday as we headed to the Naval & Military Club in St.James’s Square in London.

One of the biggest segments of the course was using the DISC profiling technique, in which John Geier et al, determined that everyone can be categorised into one of four profiles – D: Dominant; I: Influence; S: Steadiness; C: Compliance.

When I completed the 25 questionnaire it predicted that my work profile was a very (very) strong Compliance profile. And frankly I don’t disagree. Like other profiling techniques however, they have a fall out position which suggests that outside of work my profile may be slightly different.

In this one, I had a much greater mix of the Influence profile – which was initially the profile which my brother thought I would be strongest in (I believe the point he was making was that I enjoyed being the centre of attention… I can’t imagine where he got that from!!).

Of course the reason for understanding this profiling technique was so we could learn how to approach people in manners which they may be more comfortable with & to aide our understanding of how others feel & why they act the way they do in work. Already, speaking honestly, I’ve seen things I wouldn’t have noticed prior to this course so there is merit in this method, which is why I guess they stick around (and why they’re all so similar).

There has been a downside though… when once attempting to use these ‘skills’ with Dina I got a rebuke that I was treating her “like one of my … clients”… which in a way made me giggle as it mirrored the age old office joke “have you been on a course recently?” I guess having the skills is one thing, knowing when to use them is quite another.

About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Graduation Day!!

  1. have you tried the Myers-Briggs personality type test ?

    Posted by shivashetty | March 14, 2011, 06:22
  2. Sure, though not for quite some time – I’m an ESTJ.

    Posted by Mcfaggen | March 14, 2011, 08:08

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

