//
you're reading...
Travel

All Visa’ed up & ready to go!!

As I mentioned on a previous couple of blogs (Exciting News & Moving Dina) Dina has been offered a job with Herbert Smith in Belfast and we’ve been planning on her starting in April & moving over to Belfast.

For around the past ten days she’s been in Atlanta in the USA sorting out her UK Work Visa and in the middle of last week she got confirmation that her application had been successful!! Yeoo!! So finally it all very real & the deposit we put down on a Belfast flat wasn’t money down the drain!! Phew!!

Next week I’m taking Dina over to Belfast to move her in to her one bed flat in the University Quarter of Belfast. I’ve booked a hire car for a couple of days in case we need to do emergency runs to Tesco or IKEA in the city, but in the main it should work out pretty smoothly.

Obviously I’m insanely jealous of Dina… I’ve wanted to work in Northern Ireland for quite some time however until my employer bought over an ailing bank we never actually had a presence in the Province. Now that we do, I guess I just didn’t have the motivator to make a role in Northern Ireland happen… now I do!! Unfortunately I’ve got a tenancy agreement in London until October this year to see out first, and even then there are good work reasons why I shouldn’t move in 2011.

In the mean time Dina will be living alone in one of the better areas of Belfast and working at the Gasworks off the Ormeau Road. She’s excited about starting work and it sounds like a great opportunity to have a great role in a well regarded, global company.

So a big part of me is excited. A small part of me is nervous… nervous that my home country doesn’t let me down & disappointing or even offending Dina. As you may have picked up from some of my previous blogs, NI has its fair share of cave men & women. It didn’t have the wave of immigration that England, Scotland or Wales had in the 1960’s, ‘70’s and ‘80’s and consequently it’s not as diverse or (frankly) racially mature as the majority of the mainland. I’m confident that the majority will be fine, but in NI it’s always been a minority who’ve spoilt it for everyone else.

Fingers crossed.

About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

