//
you're reading...
Hobbies

A good & frugal week

So it’s gotten to Friday & the working week is done, a pleasant weekend in London awaits. The truth is that this has perhaps been one of the quietest weeks I’ve had in months & months. I have managed to spend the princely sum of 60p this week… that that was on a packet of McCoy’s Flame Grilled Steak crisps from the vender in work.

The reason for this cost saving week is a combination of coming towards the end of the month (pay wise) and trying to see it through after moving Dina over to Belfast – a process that turned out to be more expensive than I’d imagined. It’s given me an opportunity to weed out those Chicken fillets which have been lurking in the freezer & to bake some cookies and brownies so that I have something sweet to go with dinner.

Also, it being a quiet week, I’ve taken the chance to give the place a bit of a clean & tidy. Catching up on laundry, dishes & such means that the house is now feeling stress free, so it’s all good. I’ve also been catching up on TV, with the end of season one of ‘Boardwalk Empire’ on SKY Atlantic HD and also watching the opening episodes of ‘Spartacus: gods of the arena’ and reliving the good old days with season one of  the ‘X-files’.

As well as all of that, I managed to catch Tottenham Hotspurs crash out of Europe in fashion and Chelsea fail to overturn Manchester United – and Fernando Torres fail to score again. I even watched a bit of Norwich City’s victory over Nottingham Forest tonight on SKY Sports.

Having caught up on TV, sport and my domestic duties I’m looking forward to the weekend. Tomorrow I’m planning to head over to watch a parade in the city & on Sunday I’m also considering taking a short 15 minute dander over to Tower Bridge to watch about 3 minutes of the London Marathon – I reckon 3 minutes will be enough as it will simply be a procession of people running past me… as about exciting as watching a Formula One race when Schumacher was in his prime.

So things are quiet, but things are organised… and that keeps me happy. For now.

About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “A good & frugal week

  1. the good old days with season one of the ‘X-files’ indeed.
    I was told FRINGE is the spiritual successor so I got the season.
    What a load of crap. The idiot series doesn’t hold a candle.
    Neither did Flash Forward.

    Posted by shivashetty | April 16, 2011, 20:48
  2. I’ve not watched any show that comes close… it’s been quite interesting watching Season One, as whilst I’m sure at the time it was cutting edge stuff, today it does come across as dated at times (but only at times it has to be said) in terms of the CGI or SFX. But the acting looks good and the conspiracies are out there, man.

    Posted by Mcfaggen | April 17, 2011, 09:01

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

