//
you're reading...
Sport

London Marathon 2011

This morning I took the chance to nip down to near Tower Bridge to watch a bit of the London Marathon. I nipped into Tooley Street, which is a linking road to the Tower Bridge Road which is on the race route & obviously popular from a tourist & a spectator perspective.

London Marathon 2011 002

Having passed through several Police Traffic diversions I reached the Tower Bridge area to be met by a pretty large Crowd around the Tooley Street / Tower Bridge Junction.

After noticing the crowd, the first thing I notice was the fact that only racers going passed were the wheel chair athletes. And they were going at a fair pelt. In approximately my first fifteen minutes at the route side, possibly half a dozen went passed in various looking conditions oLondon Marathon 2011 020f control.

It was shortly after this that I noticed I was near the 12 mile marker so obviously not every athlete that I was about to see was going to sprint by in the best looking of form!! There was however some support near by with several tables laden with water for the runners to take on board much needed H2O!!

As I settled in to watch the racing going on, I was made aware of an overhanging helicopter which gave me the impression that the leaders were near by, though I was suspecting that they’d have been long past me by this point. However, shortly later, along came a time truck, two motorcycles and a group of male athletes who were coming up to the 12 mile marker as though they were hardly breaking a sweat!!

London Marathon 2011 – Tooley Street

I spent the next 30 minutes by the route side cheering on runners as they sped by at decreasing speeds, but increasing numbers. There were some odd looking gaits, but to be fair, they were all doing something that I probably will never achieve – completing a marathon. And for that, fair play to them all, well done on the funds many of them raised for good causes & charities and I hope the rest up over the next few days treats them all well.

About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “London Marathon 2011

  1. April 2014. wanna join me ? fair time to prep and get ready mate.

    Posted by shivashetty | November 14, 2012, 22:03
  2. London is difficult to get into… might consider other alternatives which are easier to get into…

    Posted by Mcfaggen | November 14, 2012, 22:47

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

