//
you're reading...
News and politics, Sport

Rory McIlroy – making me want to play golf since 2011

Back in April, this year, Rory McIlroy played one of the best Major Championships of his life at the US Masters in Augusta, Florida. It was the first time I’d ever watched a golf tournament on TV and this weekend is the second as Rory has once again been ‘ripping it up’ at the US Open, this time at the Congressional Country Club in Washington DC.

Back in April it wasn’t to be for Rory as he collapsed in the final round, losing his 4 shot lead at the beginning of the round to finish up joint 15th. This time though, he has finished & has just been crowned as the winner of his first Major Tournament.

As with the US Masters, Rory has been head & shoulders above the field for three rounds… and today he’s made it four days in a row. He’s broken records all around himself on what the commentators on SKY Sports have been calling a ‘clinic’ in golf. The message is clear – watch and learn, he has been fantastic!!

The guy who came second – Jason Day – had such a good day that his score would have been good enough to have won him all but six US Open tournaments outright since 1930… yet he finished EIGHT shots behind the young man from Holywood, Co. Down!!

Rory follows in great steps as Graeme McDowell, also from Northern Ireland, won this very tournament last year, but this weekend belongs to Rory. The superlatives have been running off tongues around the world, whether in Media or indeed his competitors and I can only add my bit to it… but I think the greatest compliment I can pay the guy is this… in my 29 years on this earth, I haven’t really wanted to play golf (I have done it and kind of enjoyed it at times)… but right now, having watched Rory, he’s made me want to go out & play.

Well done Rory, well done.

(Image from David Cannon / Getty Images, linked from the Los Angeles Times)

About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

One thought on “Rory McIlroy – making me want to play golf since 2011

  1. What a ridiculous weekend we saw from Rory McIlroy. I know Congressional was easy but man he just blew the field away. It was quite a sight to see and it is great for golf. We have been waiting so long for someone to step up and after the Masters I honestly didn’t think Rory would be the guy either. This wasn’t your run of the mill major win either. It shows I think that he is just at a different level than the so-called up and coming “stars” that have come and gone over the past decade. It will be interesting to see how he comes out for the upcoming majors. I know I’ll be tuning in. Also, you think you could check out my blog cuz I’d love to hear what you have to say http://chrisross91.wordpress.com/2011/06/19/just-what-the-doctor-ordered/

    Posted by Chris Ross | June 20, 2011, 04:19

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

