//
you're reading...
Hobbies, Sport

Ahh, football is back!!

Last weekend I was in the USA on a holiday, so this Saturday was my first in the UK for the new 2011-2012 season. I was back into London on Wednesday night and put lag to one side, worked through Thursday & Friday. Last night, I struggled off to bed about midnight and around 12 hours later I woke up – 25 minutes ahead of the Arsenal v Liverpool match which was being shown on SKY Sports. So I struggled out of bed and on to my sofa just in time for kick off.

Two hours later, with Liverpool the victors (deservedly so against a poor Arsenal team who are going to be struggling this year, judging by today’s performance), I settled in to watch Soccer Saturday with Jeff Stelling. Come 1500 and the scores rolling in from around England, Scotland and Wales, the text messages started rolling in from my father, who was keeping me up to date with the Portadown game, away to Cliftonville in Belfast.

First Cliftonville down to ten men.

Then 0-0 at half time.

A goal for ‘the Ports’ from Tipton.

A second from Boyle.

‘The Ports’ down to ten men too…

Before the final full time text!! Game over, the Ports are rolling – with their second win of the season and second spot on the league table!!

Football is back baby!!

About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

