//
you're reading...
Computers and Internet

Doing your job, that’s logistics

If you’ve been following television in the UK over the past few weeks, more than likely you’ve seen some of UPS – the logistics company’s adverts.

Catchy, no?

So, with an house move coming up and a few boxes of thing that I needed moving I decided to give them a go. So I logged on… quickly discovered that I would need to register to get the best service and then do the order process. I’ll be honest, I didn’t find it a straight forward process at all… and I have a degree in Computer Science!! However, after bearing with it, about 30 minutes later, I had an order created.

So come the Tuesday, I worked from home, waiting for UPS to turn up to collect my boxes. They should have been there before 1300… so at 1330, with my boxes still sitting in my lounge, I gave them a call.

“We have no record of a collection sir.”

Quite… so several phone calls later – from them to me, from me to them and we’re trying to get it sorted… only to find out that it’s too late for them to call & collect the boxes that day. So, after much frustration, I cancel the order… and what happens?? I get a flyer through the door the following day to say they called to collect the boxes.

Muppets.

I went to Parcelforce, discovered a much simpler process and a lower price to boot!! And you know what, they turned up on the day they were supposed to, in the time window they advised. That, my friends, is logistics.

About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Belfast – years behind « Finbar On Tour - September 28, 2011

  2. Pingback: You may not get this… « Finbar On Tour - October 23, 2011

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

