//
you're reading...
Travel

Goa

DSC_0007So having spent 5 days on the go, it was time for some R&R on our trip to India and as I had some points from my time in India remaining, I booked us flights to Goa on the cheap… I had enough points to even get us upgraded to ‘first’. The downside was that our outbound flight was at 0500. Yes, that’s AM. To be fair, if you want to get around Mumbai easily, 0330 is the time to do it!

Thankfully everything went smoothly enough and we landed on time and after a brief worry, found our hotel pick up and  headed for the Santana Beach Resort in Candolim. We actually had the ‘opportunity’ to watch the sun rise as we reached our hotel, which naturally enough wasn’t open for check in when we arrived at 0700. We headed for the pool area, found a couple of sun loungers & drifted off for a while to get some shut eye.

When we woke around 1030 the sun was high in the sky & it was feeling warm, as it really should be at this time of year in Goa! Thankfully though our room was ready so we were able to check in and sort ourselves out. Shortly later it was pool time. I wouldn’t ordinarily describe myself as a pool person, but given how tired I was feeling, lying beside (or in) this one felt pretty good. I reckon it’s the first time I’ve spent a full day by a pool since I finished University, over eight years ago!

DSC_0025In the evening time, we cleaned up & headed down to the beach for some dinner, with Dina trying the Goan Fish Curry… I rather boringly went for the steak… well, I was on holiday! Unsurprisingly we were shattered and crashed early… only to repeat the entire poolside experience the very next day!

Unfortunately, as the saying goes, there is no pleasure without pain and on the Thursday night, we both went down with unsettled stomachs. To be fair, it didn’t appear to dramatic to start with but we both knew that we were going to suffer some stomach issues for a while. This of course wasn’t helped by our return flight from Goa departing at 0600. Yes, AM. So another early start saw us on our way back to Bombay to finish our shopping errands and prepare to return to the UK.

About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

