//
you're reading...
Friends, Travel, Wedding

I’ve been busy… honest Guv’

So it’s been a shoddy few weeks from me, I’ve not posted in a few weeks and in all honesty, I have been a) busy and b) lazy.

Since coming back from Bombay at the beginning of February I’ve been to Northern Ireland (twice), Edinburgh and Birmingham on trips. I’ve been stubbornly been trying to keep to my swimming (and not always succeeding), been trying to study for my Open University course and frankly, considered posting a few times & then just not bothered.

So I guess this is a bit of a dump of my life through February & early March.

So Valentine’s came & went with Dina & I on opposite sides of the Irish Sea, which was disappointing, but part of the reality which we’ve both been (unfortunately) living over the past few months. I think it’s fair to say that we’re both utterly fed up of being apart most of the time. This has manifested itself in various ways, but for me, getting on planes to leave Northern Ireland has become increasingly hard and I’m starting to really not enjoy life in London. It’s beginning to become an existence (once again) rather than a life and it’s made me really think hard about my next steps.

I was fortunately however back in Northern Ireland and with Dina on the 24th February – two years to the day when I ‘officially’ asked Dina out on a date. I’m not normally one for being all expressive and personal, however it has been two of the best, busiest and quickest two years of my life! I’m so happy to have met Dina and fallen in love with her and I’m really looking forward to spending the rest of my life with her.

DSC00094In between Valentine’s and the trip to NI, I attended a ‘London Prepares’ event at the Olympic Velodrome on the Olympic site at Stratford. As with the gymnastics event I attended in January this event was part of testing that the venues are ready for the London 2012 Olympics which are due to happen later this year. Having never been to a cycling event before I wasn’t really sure what to expect, but apart from some bizarre bus arrangements because most of the Olympic Park is still a building site, it was actually great fun. I got to see Sir Chris Hoy compete and some great entertainment, capped off by a terrific win in the Women’s Omnium Eliminator race for the Brit!

The last weekend in February, as I’ve noted, I was back in NI and Dina & I were working on Wedding actions. We went to Dowlers in Co. Fermanagh to start building our gift list and we also met some musicians who we hope will be providing the backdrop to our big day. As always with Wedding stuff, it really was rather exciting. Unfortunately though our florist has had to pull out due to ill health which is terrible for her – indeed with 10 months notice for us, it has hardly put us in a bind at all, so our thoughts are with her. We also attended a Wedding Fair at the King’s Hall where we decided upon the ‘room decorator’ for our big day!

We also spent a bit of time looking at flats in Belfast. Dina’s tenancy is up at the end of March, so it was time to start looking for a new place for her and down to the 12 month nature of tenancies in the UK, what will in all likelihood become our first home together! We saw a few places and I returned to Belfast the following weekend to view a few more and in the end we’ve settled on a two bedroom flat near Botanic which, I think it’s fair to say, we’re both rather excited about!

I returned to London on the Tuesday evening and on the Wednesday morning – at 0420 – my alarm went off so I could head to Edinburgh for a day long planning workshop. I’ve taken over a project in work which is in a less than satisfactory state, so I’ve got my work cut out over the next few weeks in the office!

And so to this weekend. I got up early yesterday to catch the train to Birmingham to return to Element Bespoke Jewellers in the Jewellery Quarter to sort out our Wedding Bands. The guys there manufactured Dina’s engagement ring and although we priced in India, we were happy to give them repeat business on the basis that they are fantastic guys to work with. I would really recommend you give them a shout if you’re looking for something made for you. Having sorted that out I headed for Lichfield to meet up with a friend who used to work with me – she’s just moved out of London to Staffordshire and it was nice to meet up & catch up. We enjoyed her fine cooking as she introduced me to Saturday night TV… something which I wasn’t really ready for given the nature of the shows we watched! ‘Take Me Out’ really is something to behold…

And so I returned to London today, with the sun on my face (mostly) and it’s time to get ready for the week ahead. Time really does fly, but I’m determined to get back into routine and to be more positive this week. Do the things I need to do and to be more disciplined.

About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

